

-3^{6*}

SENATE AMENDMENT "A" to S. P. 645, L. D. 1842, RESOLVE, to Apportion One Hundred and Fifty-one Representatives Among the Several Counties, Cities, Towns, Plantations and Unorganized Territory of the State.

Amend said Resolve by striking out everything under the subheading "Second Penobscot District" under the caption "Penobscot" and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The Second Penobscot District shall consist of 6,922 inhabitants of the municipality of Brewer, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Third Penobscot District:

The Third Penobscot District shall consist of 2,378 inhabitants of the municipality of Brewer, and of the municipalities of Holden and Orrington, having a combined total population of 6,921, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Fourth Penobscot District:

The Fourth Penobscot District shall consist of 6,450 inhabitants of the municipality of Orono, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Fifth Penobscot District:

The Fifth Penobscot District shall consist of 3,539 inhabitants of the municipality of Orono, and of the municipalities of Eddington and Veazie, having a combined total population of 6,453, and shall abcose 1 Pepresentative.

(Filing No. \$-280)

SENATE AMENDMENT to S. P. 645, L. D. 1842 Page 2.

Sixth Penobscot District:

The Sixth Penobscot District shall consist of 6,064 inhabitants of the municipality of Old Town, and shall choose 1 Representative. Seventh Penobscot District:

The Seventh Penobscot District shall consist of 2,993 inhabitants of the municipality of Old Town, and of the municipalities of Bradley, Clifton and Milford, and the Indian Island Voting District, having a combined total population of 6,065, and shall choose 1 Representative. Eighth Penobscot District:

The Eighth Penobscot District shall consist of 7,000 inhabitants of the municipality of Millinocket, and shall choose 1 Representative. Ninth Penobscot District:

The Ninth Penobscot District shall consist of 742 inhabitants of the municipality of Millinocket, and of the municipalities of East Millinocket, Medway, Patton, Staceyville, the plantation of Mount Chase, and all unorganized territory within said county not included within any other voting district within said county, having a combined total population of 6,985, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Tenth Penobscot District:

The Tenth Penobscot District shall consist of the municipalities of Chaster, Lee, Lincoln, Lowell and Winn, having a combined total population of 6,283, and shall choose L Representative.

(Filing no. 8-280)

SENATE AMENDMENT to S. P. 645, L. D. 1842

Page 3.

Eleventh Penobscot District:

The Eleventh Penobscot District shall consist of the municipalities of Carmel, Hampden and Newburgh, having a combined total population of 6,829, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Twelfth Penobscot District:

The Twelfth Penobscot District shall consist of the municipalities of Dixmont, Etna, Glenburn, Hermon, Levant, Plymouth and Stetson, having a combined total population of 6,396, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Thirteenth Penobscot District:

The Thirteenth Penobscot District shall consist of the municipalities of Corinna, Corinth, Exeter, Kenduskeag and Newport, having a combined total population of 6,568, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Fourteenth Penobscot District:

The Fourteenth Penobscot District shall consist of the municipalities of Alton, Bradford, Charleston, Dexter, Edinburgh, Garland and Hudson, and the unorganized township of Argyle, having a combined total population of 6,843, and shall choose 1 Representative.

Fifteenth Penobscot District:

The Fifteenth Penobscot District shall consist of the municipalities of Burlington, Enfield, Greenbush, Greenfield, Howland, Lagrange, Nationarchield, Maxfield, Passadumkeag, Springfield and Woodville, the plantations of Carroll, Drew, Grand Falls, Lakeville, Prentiss, Sebeois and Webster, and the unorganized township of Kingman, having a combined total population of 6,446, and shall choose 1 Representative.'

(Filing no. 8-280)

SENATE AMENDMENT to S. P. 645, L. D. 1842

Statement of Fact

The intent of this amendment is to apportion Penobscot County into districts which more closely approximate the unit base number for said county by, where necessary, taking that portion of the population of cities and towns in Penobscot County which have numbers of inhabitants greater than the unit base number of said county and combining such portion with other cities and towns in Penobscot County to form single-member districts.

Proposed by Senator:

NAME:

COUNTY: Cumberland

Reproduced and distributed pursuant to Senate Rule No. 11A.

(Filing No. S-280)

6/1.6/71