MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1823

S. P. 635 In Senate, June 10, 1971 Reported by Senator Berry of Cumberland from Committee on Constitutional State Re Apportionment and Congressional Redistricting and printed under Joint Rules No. 18.

HARRY N. STARBRANCH, Secretary

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

RESOLVE, Dividing the State of Maine into Councillor Districts.

Apportionment of Councillor Districts. Resolved: That for the years 1973 to and including the year 1982, the State is divided into 7 Councillor Districts, each of which Districts shall be entitled to one Councillor to be chosen in the manner prescribed by the Constitution and laws of the State, as follows:

First District:

York, 1973-1974; 1975-1976; 1981-1982. Oxford, 1977-1978; 1979-1980.

Second District:

Cumberland, one for each year.

Third District:

Sagadahoc, 1973-1974. Androscoggin, 1975-1976; 1979-1980; 1981-1982. Franklin, 1977-1978.

Fourth District:

Somerset, 1973-1974; 1975-1976. Kennebec, 1977-1978; 1979-1980; 1981-1982.

Fifth District:

Lincoln, 1973-1974. Waldo, 1975-1976. Hancock, 1977-1978; 1979-1980. Knox, 1981-1982.

Sixth District:

Piscataquis, 1973-1974. Penobscot, 1975-1976; 1977-1978; 1979-1980; 1981-1982.

Seventh District:

Washington, 1973-1974; 1975-1976. Aroostook, 1977-1978; 1979-1980; 1981-1982.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is reflected in the title.