MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1679

H. P. 1279

Reported by Mr. Wight from Committee on County Government and printed under Joint Rules No. 18.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

AN ACT Creating Piscataquis County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-E, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-E to read as follows:

§ 105-E. Creation of Piscataquis County Commissioner Districts

Piscataquis County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities of Abbot, Blanchard Plantation, Capens, Elliottsville Plantation, Greenville, Guilford, Kingsbury Plantation, Monson, Shirley, Wellington, Willimantic, T 10 R 9 WELS, T. 10 R 10 WELS, T 10 R 11 WELS, T 10 R 12 WELS, T 10 R 13 WELS, T 10 R 14 WELS, T 10 R 15 WELS, T 9 R 9 WELS, T 9 R 10 WELS, T 9 R 11 WELS, T 9 R 12 WELS, T 9 R 13 WELS, T 9 R 14 WELS, T 9 R 15 WELS, T 8 R 10 WELS, T 8 R 11 WELS, T 8 R 12 (Soper Mountain), T 8 R 13 (Eagle Lake), T 8 R 14 WELS, T 8 R 15 WELS, T 7 R 9 WELS, T 7 R 10 WELS, T 7 R 11 WELS, T 7 R 12 WELS, T 6 R 13 WELS, T 7 R 14 WELS, T 7 R 15 WELS, T 6 R 9 WELS, T 6 R 10 WELS, T 6 R 11 WELS, T 6 R 12 WELS, T 6 R 13 WELS, T 6 R 14 WELS, T 5 R 16 WELS, T 5 R 17 WELS, T 18 R 19 WELS, T 19 R 19 WELS,

R 14, T 1 R 9 WELS, T 1 R 10 WELS, T 1 R 11 WELS, T 1 R 12 WELS, T 1 R 13 WELS, T 1 R 14 WELS, T A R 10, T A R 11, T A R 12, T A R 13 (Frenchtown), T A R 14 (Lily Bay), TA 2 R 13 & 14, T B R 10, T B R 11, Bowdoin College Grant East T 7 R 10 West T 8 R 10, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Days Academy Grant, Kineo Twp., Big Squaw T 2 R 6, Little Squaw, T 3 R 5, T 7 R 9 NWP;

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities of Dover-Foxcroft, Parkman, Sangerville;

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities of Katahdin Iron Works T 6 R 9, T 5 R 9 NWP, T 4 R 9 NWP, Bowerbank, Barnard Plantation, T 6 R 8 Williamsburg, Brownville, Lake View Plantation, Sebec, Milo, Medford Twp., Atkinson, Orneville Twp.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district for which they are elected and shall be elected at large by the qualified voters of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Piscataquis County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1972 a commissioner resident in district 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county. In 1974 a commissioner resident in district one shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county. In 1976 a commissioner resident in district 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall have on the board of commissioners a resident elected by the county at large.