

## ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

## Legislative Document

# No. 1113

S. P. 377

In Senate, March 2, 1971

Referred to Committee on Judiciary. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

HARRY N. STARBRANCH, Secretary Presented by Senator Shute of Franklin.

## STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

## AN ACT Relating to Judicial Divisions of the District Court.

**Emergency preamble.** Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, the county attorney for Franklin County has no jurisdiction in Androscoggin to handle criminal cases allegedly committed in Franklin County; and

Whereas, cases which should logically be returnable to District Court number 12 are being held at Livermore Falls; and

Whereas, in order to prevent such complication and further confusion in recording civil cases the following legislation is vitally necessary; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

**R. S., T. 4, § 153, sub-§§ 1, 9, 10 and 18, amended.** Subsections 1, 9, 10 and 18 of section 153 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, as amended, are further amended to read as follows:

**1.** Northern Androscoggin. Northern Androscoggin consists of the municipalities of Leeds, Livermore, Livermore Falls and Turner in the County of Androscoggin. For the purpose of eriminal business solely, the municipality of Jay, located in the County of Franklin shall be deemed to be within the District of Northern Androscoggin. The District Court for Northern Androscoggin shall be held at Livermore Falls.

**g.** Northern Cumberland. Northern Cumberland consists of all municipalities in the County of Cumberland not included within the divisions of Eastern and Southern Cumberland and consists of the municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Hiram, Fryeburg, Lovell, Sweden, Stow and Porter in the County of Oxford. The District Court for Northern Cumberland shall be held at Bridgton.

10. Franklin. Franklin consists of the entire County of Franklin excepting therefrom the municipality of Jay for the purpose of eriminal business solely. Said district shall include the municipality of Jay for the purpose of all eivil business. The District Court of Franklin shall be held at Farmington.

18. Southern Oxford. Southern Oxford consists of all municipalities and unorganized territory in Oxford County not included in the division of Northern Oxford except the municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Hiram, Frychurg, Lovell, Sweden, Stow and Porter. The District Court for Southern Oxford shall be held at Paris.

**Emergency clause.** In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act shall take effect when approved.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is reflected in the emergency preamble.