

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 729

H. P. 553 House of Representatives, February 10, 1971 Referred to Committee on County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk Presented by Mr. Crosby of Kennebunk.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

AN ACT Creating York County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

R. S., T. 30, § 105-F, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-F to read as follows:

§ 105-F. Creation of York County Commissioner Districts

York County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities of Arundel, Eliot, Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Kittery, South Berwick, Wells and York.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities of Acton, Alfred, Berwick, Buxton, Cornish, Dayton, Hollis, Lebanon, Limerick, Limington, Lyman, Newfield, North Berwick, Parsonsfield, Sanford, Shapleigh and Waterboro.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities of Biddeford, Old Orchard Beach and Saco.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent and shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the York County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1972 a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district one. In 1974 a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 2. In 1976 a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 3. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to have geographical representation on the board of county commissioners of York County with the members elected from the county at large.

2