

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 439

H. P. 330 House of Representatives, January 28, 1971 Referred to Committee on County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk Presented by Mr. MacLeod of Bar Harbor.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

AN ACT Creating County Commissioner Districts for Hancock County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-D, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes, as amended, is further amended by adding a new section 105-D, to read as follows:

§ 105-D. Creation of Hancock County Commissioner Districts

Hancock County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District No. 1 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Amhert, Aurora, Blue Hill, Dedham, Eastbrook, Ellsworth, Franklin, Gouldsboro, Mariaville, No. 33 Plt., Osborn Plt., Otis, Sorrento, Sullivan, Surry, Waltham, Winter Harbor, T16, T22, T28, T32, T34, T35, T39, T40, T41 Middle Division, T3, T4 North Division, T7, T8, T9 and T10 South Division.

Commissioner District No. 2. consisting of the municipalities of Brooklin, Brooksville, Bucksport, Castine, Deer Isle, Long Island Plt., Orland, Penobscot, Sedgwick, Stonington, Swans Island and Verona.

Commissioner District No. 3 consisting of the municipalities of Bar Harbor, Cranberry Isles, Hancock, Lamoine, Mt. Desert, Southwest Harbor, Tremont and Trenton.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Hancock County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1972 District No. 1 shall elect a

commissioner. In 1974 District No. 2 shall elect a commissioner. In 1976 District No. 3 shall elect a commissioner. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all tmes be represented on the board of commissioners.

Sec. 3. Residents in unorganized territory. Residents in unorganized territory in Hancock County who are entitled to vote shall be allowed to register and vote in the nearest municipality within the county.

STATEMENT OF FACT

The intent of this legislation is to provide county commissioner districts for Hancock County to assure that each area would be fairly represented by a commissioner.