MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 261

S. P. 97 In Senate, January 20, 1971 Referred to Committee on Judiciary. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

HARRY N. STARBRANCH, Secretary

Presented by Senator Anderson of Hancock.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

AN ACT Providing for Western Hancock District Court to be Held at Bucksport.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 4, § 153, amended. The first sentence of section 153 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes is amended to read as follows:

The State is divided into 37 32 judicial divisions, named and defined as follows, and with places for holding court therein as follows:

- Sec. 2. R. S., T. 4, § 153, sub-§ 11, amended. Subsection 11 of section 153 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, as amended by chapter 458 of the public laws of 1969, is further amended to read as follows:
- II. Central Hancock. Central Hancock consists of the entire County of Hancock except Bar Harbor, Mount Desert, Cranberry Isles, Southwest Harbor, Trenton, Swan's Island, Long Island Plantation and Tremont, and except Bucksport, Orland, Verona, Penobscot, Castine, Sedgwick, Brooksville, Stonington and Deer Isle. The District Court for Central Hancock shall be held at Ellsworth except that one session per week may be held at Bucksport at the discretion of the presiding judge.
- Sec. 3. R. S., T. 4, § 153, sub-§ 11-A, additional. Section 153 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, as amended, is further amended by adding a new subsection 11-A to read as follows:
- 11-A. Western Hancock. Western Hancock consists of Bucksport, Orland, Verona, Penobscot, Castine, Sedgwick, Brooksville, Stonington and Deer Isle. The District Court for Western Hancock shall be held at Bucksport.

- Sec. 4. R. S., T. 4, § 154, amended. Subsection 5 of section 154 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, is amended to read as follows:
- 5. Fifth District. The 5th District consists of the divisions of Central Hancock (Ellsworth), Southern Hancock (Bar Harbor), Western Hancock (Bucksport) and Waldo (Belfast).

STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to provide better District Court service to the people of Western Hancock.