

ngenergen en vieren en en erenden en en gereger det in die eine geven ein deue die stelle van daarde eren fan Georgen van die en die en die deue de 1990 van die die die die en die en die en die erende erende teerse deue as

# ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTH LEGISLATURE

## Legislative Document

### No. 135

H. P. 91 House of Representatives, January 12, 1971 Referred to Committee on County Government. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk Presented by Mr. Finemore of Bridgewater.

## STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE

#### AN ACT Creating Aroostook County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-A, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-A to read as follows:

#### § 105-A. Creation of Aroostook County Commissioner Districts

Aroostook County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Amity, Ashland, Bancroft, Benedicta, Blaine Bridge-water, Castle Hill, Cary Plt., Chapman, Cox Patent, Crystal, Dyer Brook, Dudley, E Plt., Forkstown, Garfield Plt., Glenwood Plt., Hammond Plt., Haynesville, Hersey, Hodgdon, Houlton, Island Falls, Linneus, Littleton, Ludlow, Macwahoc Plt., Mapleton, Mars Hill, Merrill, Monticello, Moro Plt., Molunkus, Nashville Plt., New Limerick, North Yarmouth Academy Grant, Oakfield, Orient, Oxbow Plt., Perham, Portage Lake, Reed Plt., Sherman, Silver Ridge Twp., Smyrna, Squapan, St. Croix, Wade, Washburn, Webbertown, Westfield, Weston, Woodland, Upper Molunkus, TAR 2, TCR 2, TDR 2, T1R5, 2R4, 3R3, 3R4, 4R3, 7R5, 8R3, 8R5, 9R3, 9R4, 9R5, 9R7, 9R8, 10R3, 10R6, 10R7, 10R8, 11R4, 11R7, 11R8, 11R9, 11R10, 11R11, 11R12, 11R13, 11R14, 11R15, 11R16, 11R17, 12R7, 12R8, 12R9, 12R10, 12R11, 12R12, 12R13, 12R14, 12R15, 12R16, 12R17, 13R5, 13R7, 13R8, 13R9, 13R10, 13R11, 13R12, 13R13, 13R14, 13R15, 13R16, 14R5, 14R6, 14R7, 14R8, 14R9, 14R10, 14R11, 14R12, 14R13, 14R14, 14R15, 14R16, 15R5, 15R6, 15R8, 15R9, 15R10, 15R11, 15R12, 15R13, 15R14, 15R15, 16R8, 16R9, 16R12, 16R13, 16R14, 17R12, 17R13, 17R14, 18R10, 18R11, 18R12, 18R13, 19R11, 19R12, 20R11, 20R12 WELS.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Caribou, Caswell, Cyr Plt., Easton, Fort Fairfield, Hamlin, Masardis, New Sweden, Presque Isle, Stockholm, Westmanland Plt., 16R4 WELS.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Allagash, Connor Plt., Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Limestone, Madawaska, New Canada Plt., St. Agatha, St. Francis, St. John Plt., Van Buren, Wallagrass Plt., Winterville Plt., T16R5, 16R6, 17R3, 17R4, 17R5 WELS.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent and shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Aroostook County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1972 a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 3. In 1974 a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district I. In 1976 a commissioner shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county to represent district 2. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

Sec. 3. Residents in unorganized territory. Residents of unorganized territory in Aroostook County who are entitled to vote shall be allowed to register and vote in the nearest accessible municipality within the county.

#### STATEMENT OF FACT

The purpose of this bill is to have geographical representation on the board of county commissioners of Aroostook County with the members elected from the county at large.