MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

(EMERGENCY) FIRST SPECIAL SESSION

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1712

S. P. 585

In Senate, January 6, 1970

Committee on Judiciary suggested.

HARRY N. STARBRANCH, Secretary Presented by Senator Holman of Franklin.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED AND SEVENTY

AN ACT Relating to Judicial Divisions of the District Court.

Emergency preamble. Whereas, Acts of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

Whereas, the county attorney for Franklin County has no jurisdiction in Androscoggin to handle criminal cases allegedly committed in Franklin County; and

Whereas, cases which should logically be returnable to District Court number 12 are being held at Livermore Falls; and

Whereas, in order to prevent such complication and further confusion in recording civil cases the following legislation is vitally necessary; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

- R. S., T. 4, § 153, sub-§§ 1, 9, 10, and 18, amended. Subsections 1, 9, 10, and 18 of section 153 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, as amended by section 1 of chapter 501 of the public laws of 1969, are further amended to read as follows:
- r. Northern Androscoggin. Northern Androscoggin consists of the municipalities of Leeds, Livermore, Livermore Falls and Turner in the County

of Androscoggin, and Jay, in the County of Franklin. The District Court for Northern Androscoggin shall be held at Livermore Falls.

- g. Northern Cumberland. Northern Cumberland consists of all municipalities in the County of Cumberland not included within the divisions of Eastern and Southern Cumberland and consists of the municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Hiram, Fryeburg, Lovell, Sweden, Stow and Porter in the County of Oxford. The District Court for Northern Cumberland shall be held at Bridgton.
- 10. Franklin. Franklin consists of the entire County of Franklin except the municipality of Jay. The District Court of Franklin shall be held at Farmington.
- 18. Southern Oxford. Southern Oxford consists of all municipalities and unorganized territory in Oxford County not included in the division of Northern Oxford except the municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Hiram, Fryeburg, Lovell, Sweden, Stow and Porter. The District Court for Southern Oxford shall be held at South Paris.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act shall take effect when approved.