# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### (NEW TITLE) NEW DRAFT OF: S. P. 169, L. D. 543

### ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH LEGISLATURE

#### Legislative Document

No. 1526

S. P. 468

Reported by Senator Mills of Franklin from Committee on Judiciary.
Printed under Joint Rules No. 18.

IERROLD B. SPEERS, Secretary

#### STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-NINE

AN ACT Relating to Jurisdiction and Judicial Divisions of the District Court.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 4, § 152, amended. Section 152 of Title, 4 of the Revised Statutes, as amended by chapter 236 of the public laws of 1965, is further amended by adding at the end, a new paragraph, as follows:

When a municipality lies in a county other than that of the situs of the District Court, the Superior Court in and for the county wherein the municipality lies shall have the appellate, original and concurrent jurisdiction provided for by this section as to all cases arising in said municipality.

- Sec. 2. R. S., T. 4, § 153, sub-§§ 1, 9, 10 and 18, amended. Subsections 1, 9, 10 and 18 of section 153 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes are amended to read as follows:
- r. Northern Androscoggin. Northern Androscoggin consists of the municipalities of Leeds, Livermore, Livermore Falls and Turner, in the County of Androscoggin, and Jay, in the County of Franklin. The District Court for Northern Androscoggin shall be held at Livermore Falls.
- 9. Northern Cumberland. Northern Cumberland consists of all municipalities in the County of Cumberland not included within the divisions of Eastern and Southern Cumberland, and consists of the municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Hiram, Fryeburg, Lovell, Sweden, Stow and Porter in the County of Oxford. The District Court for Northern Cumberland shall be held at Bridgton.

- 10. Franklin. Franklin consists of the entire County of Franklin, except the municipality of Jay. The District Court of Franklin shall be held at Farmington.
- r8. Southern Oxford. Southern Oxford consists of all municipalities and unorganized territory in Oxford County not included in the division of Northern Oxford, except the municipalities of Brownfield, Denmark, Hiram, Fryeburg, Lovell, Sweden, Stow and Porter. The District Court for Southern Oxford shall be held at South Paris.