# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

### ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH LEGISLATURE

### Legislative Document

No. 1525

S. P. 462 In Senate, May 19, 1969 Referred to Committee on Towns and Counties. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

JERROLD B. SPEERS, Secretary Presented by Senator Dunn of Oxford.

### STATE OF MAINE

# IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-NINE

#### An Act Creating Oxford County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

R. S., T. 30, §§ 105-D - 105-E, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding 2 new sections, to read as follows:

## § 105-D. Creation of Oxford County Commissioner Districts

Oxford County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities of Byron, Mexico, Roxbury and Rumford.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities of Buckfield, Canton, Dixfield, Greenwood, Hartford, Hebron, Milton Twp., Oxford, Paris, Peru, Sumner, West Paris and Woodstock.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities of Adamstown, Albany Twp., Andover, Andover North Surplus, Andover West Surplus, Batchelders Grant, Bethel, Bowmantown, Brownfield, C. Surplus Twp., Denmark, Fryeburg, Gilead, Grafton, Hanover, Hiram, Lincoln Plt., Lovell, Lower Cupsuptic, Lynchtown, Magalloway Plt., Mason Twp., Newry, Norway, Oxbow, Parkertown, Parmachenee, Porter, Richardsontown, Riley, Stoneham, Stow, Sweden, Twp. C, Upper Cupsuptic, Upton and Waterford.

### § 105-E. Transition

The transition to the Oxford County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1970 the Commissioner District having the largest population which, for the next term, would not otherwise be represented on the

board of commissioners, shall elect a commissioner. In 1972 the commissioner from the 2nd largest Commissioner District which, for the next term, would not otherwise be represented on the board of commissioners, shall be elected. In 1974 the commissioner from the remaining Commissioner District shall be elected. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.