

## ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH LEGISLATURE

No. 1033

## **Legislative Document**

S. P. 319 In Senate, February 26, 1969 Referred to Committee on Towns and Counties. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

JERROLD B. SPEERS, Secretary Presented by Senator Cianchette of Somerset.

## STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-NINE

AN ACT Creating Somerset County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-C, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-C, to read as follows:

§ 105-C. Creation of Somerset County Commissioner Districts

Somerset County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District No. 1 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Alder Brook, Anson, Appleton, Athens, Attean Pond, Bald Mtn. (T2R3), Bald Mtn. (T4R3), Bigelow, Big 6, Big 10, Big W, Bingham, Blake Gore, Bowtown, Bradstreet, Brassua, Brighton Plt., Cambridge, Caratunk Plt., Carrying Place, Chase Stream, Comstock, Concord, Cornville, Dale Brook, Dead River, Dennistown Plt., East Moxie, Elm Stream, Embden, Flagstaff, Forsyth, Hammond, Harmony, Hartland, Highland Plt., Hobbstown, Holeb, Indian Stream, Jackman, Johnson Mtn., King & Bartlett, Lexington, Little W., Long Pond, Lower Enchanted, Mayfield, Misery, Misery Gore, Moose River, Moscow, Moxie Gore, New Portland, Palmyra, Parlin Pond, Pierce Pond, Pittston Academy Grant, Pleasant Ridge Plt., Plymouth, Prentiss, Ripley, Rockwood Strip, Russell Pond, St. Albans, St. John, Sandbar Tract, Sandwich Academy Tract, Sandy Bay, Sapling, Seboomook. Soldiertown, Squaretown, Taunton & Raynham Tract, Ten Thousand Acre Tract, The Forks Plt., Thorndike & Tomhegan, Upper Enchanted, West Forks Plt., West Middlesex Canal Grant, T1R3, 3R4, 3R5, 5R6, 5R7 BKPWKR, T4R5 NBKP, T4R17, 5R17, 5R18, 5R19, 5R20, 6R17, 6R18, 7R16, 7R17, 7R18, 7R19, 8R16, 8R17, 8R18, 8R19, 9R16, 9R17, 9R18, 10R16 WELS. Commissioner District No. 2 consisting of the municipalities of Fairfield, Madison, Mercer, Norridgewock, Smithfield, Solon and Starks.

Commissioner District No. 3 consisting of the municipalities of Canaan, Detroit, Pittsfield and Skowhegan.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district which they represent.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Somerset County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1970 District 1 shall elect a commissioner. In 1972 District 2 shall elect a commissioner. In 1974 District 3 shall elect a commissioner. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.

Sec. 3. Residents in unorganized territory. Residents in unorganized territory in Somerset County who are entitled to vote shall be allowed to register and vote in the nearest municipality within the county.

2