

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 771

H. P. 586 Referred to Committee on Towns and Counties. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk Presented by Mr. Thompson of Belfast.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-NINE

AN ACT Creating Waldo County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-B, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-B to read as follows:

§ 105-B. Creation of Waldo County Commissioner Districts

Waldo County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities of Belfast, Belmont, Islesboro and Northport.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities of Frankfort, Jackson, Monroe, Prospect, Searsport, Stockton Springs, Swanville, Waldo and Winterport.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities of Brooks, Burnham, Freedom, Knox, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill, Palermo, Searsmont, Thorndike, Troy and Unity.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the Commissioner District which they represent.

Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Waldo County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1970, district 3 shall elect a commissioner. In 1972, district one shall elect a commissioner. In 1974, district 2 shall elect a commissioner. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.