MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

SENATE

104th LEGISLATURE

SENATE AMENDMENT "B" to S.P. 60, L.D. 168, Bill, "AN ACT Creating County Commissioner Districts."

25 A. O. O. Fr. 18

Amend said Bill in section 1 by striking out all of the 4th underlined sentence (same in L.D.) and inserting in place thereof the following underlined sentence:

'Districts shall be composed so every municipality, plantation and unorganized territory in the district must border on at least one other municipality or plantation or unorganized territory in the district, unless the district is composed of one municipality or precincts thereof.

Further amend said Bill in subsection 2 of section 2 by striking out in the 4th line (same in L.D.) the underlined words and punctuation "Academy Grant,"; and by striking out in the 9th and 10th lines (10th line in L.D.) the words "North Yarmouth" and inserting in place thereof the underlined words 'North Yarmouth Academy Grant'

Further amend said Bill in subsection 10 of section 2 by striking out in the 7th line (same in L.D.) the underlined comma which appears after the underlined words "Indian Purchase"

Further amend said Bill in subsection 11 of section 2 by striking out all of the 4th paragraph (same in L.D.) and inserting in place thereof the following:

'Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Abbott, Big Squaw, Blanchard Flt., Bowdoin College Grant, East and West, Burbank, Chesuncook, Cove Point, Days Academy Grant, Eagle Lake, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Elliotsville Plt., Frenchtown, Greenville, Guilford, Harfords Point, Kineo Twp., Kingsbury Plt., Lily Bay, Little Squar, Lobster, Monson, Mt. Katahdin, Rainbow, Sandbar Tract, Shirley, Soper Mt. Wellington, Willimantic, TA2R13, & R14,R11, R12, TXR14, T4R9, 5R9, 7R9, NWP, T1R11, R12, R13, R14, T2R12, R13, T3R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, R15, T5R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, R15, T6R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, R15, T7R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, R15, T7R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14, R15, T10R9, R10, R11, R12, R13, R14 and R15 WELS.'

(Filing Mo. \$-67)

Further amend said Bill in section 2 by striking out all of subsection 13 (same in L.D.) and inserting in place thereof the following:

'13. Somerset County. Somerset County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Alder Brook, Anson, Appleton, Athens, Attean Pond, Bald Mtn. (T2R3), Bald Mtn. (T4R3), Bigelow, Big 6, Big 10, Big W, Bingham, Blake Gore, Bowtown, Bradstreet, Brassua, Brighton Plt., Cambridge, Caratunk Plt., Carrying Place, Chase Stream, Comstock, Concord, Cornville, Dale Brook, Dead River, Dennistown Plt., East Moxie, Elm Stream, Embden, Flagstaff, Forsyth, Hammond, Harmony, Hartland, Highland Plt., Hobbstown, Holeb, Indian Stream, Jackman, Johnson Mtn., King & Bartlett, Lexington, Little W., Long Pond, Lower Enchanted, Mayfield, Misery, Misery Gore, Moose River, Moscow, Moxie Gore, New Portland, Palmyra, Parlin Pond, Pierce Pond, Pittston Academy Grant, Pleasant Ridge Plt., Fiymouth, Prentiss, Ripley, Rockwood Strip, Russell Pond, St. Albans, St. John, Sandbar Tract, Sandwich Academy Tract, Sandy Bay, Sapling, Seboomook, Soldiertown, Squaretown, Taunton & Raynham Tract, Ten Thousand Acre Tract, The Forks Plt., Thorndike, Tomhegan, Upper Enchanted, West Forks Plt., West Middlesex Canal Grant, TlR3, 3R4, 3R5, 5R6, 5R7 BKPWKR, T4R5 NBKP, T4R17, 5R17, 5R18, 5R19, 5R20, 6R17, 6R18, 7R16, 7R17, 7R18, 7R19, 8R16, 8R17, 8R18, 8R19, 9R16, 9R17, 9R18, 10R16 WELS.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities of Fairfield, Madison, Mercer, Norridgewock, Smithfield, Solon and Starks.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities of Canaan, Detroit, Pittsfield and Skowhegan.

Proposed by Senator DUNN of Oxford.

Reproduced and distributed pursuant to Senate Rule No. 11A.

(Filing No. S-67)