MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND FOURTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 50

H. P. 49

Referred to Committee on Towns and Counties. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

BERTHA W. JOHNSON, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Finemore of Bridgewater.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-NINE

AN ACT Creating Aroostook County Commissioner Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 30, § 105-A, additional. Title 30 of the Revised Statutes is amended by adding a new section 105-A, to read as follows:

§ 105-A. Creation of Aroostook County Commissioner Districts

Aroostook County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:

Commissioner District number one consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Academy Grant, Allagash Plt., Amity, Ashland, Bancroft, Benedicta, Blaine, Bridgewater, Castle Hill, Cary Plt., Chapman, Cox Patent, Crystal, Dyer Brook, Dudley, E. Plt., Forkstown, Garfield Plt., Glenwood Plt., Hammond Plt., Haynesville, Hersey, Hodgdon, Houlton, Island Falls, Linneus, Littleton, Dudlow, Macwahoc Plt., Mapleton, Mars Hill, Masardis, Merrill, Monticello, Moro Plt., Molunkus, Nashville Plt., New Limerick, North Yarmouth, Oakfield, Orient, Oxbow Plt., Perham, Portage Lake, Reed Plt., Sherman, Silver Ridge Twp., Smyrna, Squapan, St. Croix, St. Francis, St. John Plt., Wade, Washburn, Webbertown, Westfield, Weston, Winterville Plt., Woodland, Upper Molunkus, TAR 2, TCR 2, TDR 2, T1R5, 2R4, 3R3, 3R4, 4R3, 7R5, 8R3, 8R5, 9R3, 9R4, 9R5, 9R7, 9R8, 10R3, 10R6, 10R7, 10R8, 11R4, 11R7, 11R8, 11R9, 11R10, 11R11, 11R12, 11R13, 11R14, 11R15, 11R16, 11R17, 12R7, 12R8, 12R9, 12R10, 12R11, 12R12, 12R13, 12R14, 12R15, 12R16, 12R17, 13R5, 13R7, 13R8, 13R9, 13R10, 13R11, 13R12, 13R13, 13R14, 13R15, 13R16, 14R5, 14R6, 14R7, 14R8, 14R9, 14R10 14R11, 14R12, 14R13, 14R14, 14R15, 14R16, 15R5, 15R6, 15R8, 15R9, 15R10, 15R11, 15R12, 15R13, 15R14, 15R15, 16R8, 16R9, 16R12, 16R13, 16R14, 17R12, 17R13, 17R14, 18R10, 18R11, 18R12, 18R13, 19R11, 19R12, 20R11, 20R12 WELS.

Commissioner District number 2 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Caribou, Connor Twp., Cyr Plt., Easton, Fort Fairfield, New Sweden, Presque Isle, Stockholm, Westmanland Plt., 16R4 WELS.

Commissioner District number 3 consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territory of Caswell Plt., Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, Frenchville, Grand Isle, Hamlin Plt., Limestone, Madawaska, New Canada Plt., St. Agatha, Van Buren, Wallagrass Plt., T16R5, 16R6, 17R3, 17R4, 17R5 WELS.

- Sec. 2. Transition. The transition to the Aroostook County district system shall be made in the following manner: In 1970 district 3 shall elect a commissioner. In 1972 district 1 shall elect a commissioner. In 1974 district 2 shall elect a commissioner. Thereafter elections shall continue in a manner so that each district shall at all times be represented on the board of commissioners.
- Sec. 3. Residents in unorganized territory. Residents of unorganized territory in Aroostook County who are entitled to vote shall be allowed to register and vote in the nearest accessible municipality within the county.