# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

## ONE HUNDRED AND SECOND LEGISLATURE

### Legislative Document

No. 1309

S. P. 413 In Senate, February 19, 1965 Referred to Committee on Inland Fisheries and Game. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Secretary

Presented by Senator Hoffses of Knox.

#### STATE OF MAINE

# IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-FIVE

AN ACT Relating to Closed Time on Deer in Certain Zones.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 12, § 2353, amended. The first 10 paragraphs of section 2353 of Title 12 of the Revised Statutes are repealed and the following enacted in place thereof:

'For the purposes of regulating open seasons on deer, the state shall be divided into the following 3 zones:

Northern Zone: Northerly of a line beginning on Route 16 on the New Hampshire border; thence easterly along said Route 16 to Milo; thence easterly along an unnumbered route north of the Piscataquis River through Medford to its junction with Route 155 in Howland; thence easterly along said Route 155 to its junction with Route 2 in Enfield; thence northerly along said Route 2 to its junction with Route 6 in Lincoln; thence easterly along said Route 6 to the Canadian border.

Southeastern Zone: The area within the following described territory: Beginning at the Canadian border at Vanceboro; thence westerly along Route 6 to Lincoln; thence southerly along Route 2 to Bangor; thence southerly along easterly bank of the Penobscot River and the county line between Waldo and Hancock Counties to the ocean, including the islands along the coast.

Southwestern Zone: All the remaining area of the State, including the islands along the coast.

There shall be an open season on deer in each calendar year in the zones described above as follows:

Northern Zone: October 15th to November 30th.

Southeastern Zone: November 1st to December 5th.

Southwestern Zone: November 5th to December 5th.'

Sec. 2. R. S., T. 12, § 2501, amended. Section 2501 of Title 12 of the Revised Statutes is amended to read as follows:

#### '§ 2501. Open season

There shall be an annual open season from October 1st to October 14th in the Northern Zone as described in section 2353 for the purpose of hunting deer with bow and arrow only.

There shall be an annual open season from October 1st to October 20th in the Central Zone as described in section 2353 for the purpose of hunting deer with bow and arrow only.

There shall be an annual open season during the month of October from October 1st to October 31st in the Southeastern and Southwestern Zones as described in section 2353 for the purpose of hunting deer with bow and arrow only, except that on the Island of Islesboro in Waldo County there shall be an open season for hunting deer with bow and arrow during the months of October and November of each calendar year. During the month of October any person hunting deer on Islesboro shall be licensed as provided in section 2502. During the month of November any person hunting deer on Islesboro shall be licensed in accordance with section 2401.'