MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND SECOND LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 425

H. P. 322 House of Representatives, January 21, 1965 Referred to Committee on Education. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

JEROME G. PLANTE, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Carroll of Limerick.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-FIVE

AN ACT Authorizing the Municipalities of Acton, Alfred, Limerick, Lyman, Newfield, Shapleigh and Waterboro to Form a School Administrative District.

Emergency preamble. Whereas, there is a vital need for safe and adequate school facilities in the municipalities; and

Whereas, the school programs of the area could be improved and more efficiently and economically operated; and

Whereas, it is economically impossible to meet the minimum requirement of 300 resident high school pupils in this area; and

Whereas, the State Board of Education cannot approve the formation of this proposed district under the criteria set out in the Revised Statutes, Title 20, section 213; and

Whereas, said Title 20, section 212, provides that the Legislature may establish such School Administrative Districts; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

School Administrative District for Acton, Alfred, Limerick, Lyman, Newfield, Shapleigh and Waterboro authorized. The municipalities of Acton, Alfred, Limerick, Lyman, Newfield, Shapleigh and Waterboro are exempted from the

limitations provided in the Revised Statutes, Title 20, section 213, and the State Board of Education is authorized to proceed pursuant to said Title 20, sections 215 to 307, to take the necessary action to allow the municipalities of Acton, Alfred, Limerick, Lyman, Newfield, Shapleigh and Waterboro, or any combination of 5 towns, to form a School Administrative District.

Notwithstanding the provisions of Title 20, section 305, all appropriations made by the district and assessed against the member towns shall be apportioned as follows: $\frac{1}{2}$ in the same proportion as the municipality's state valuation bears to the total state valuation of the district and $\frac{1}{2}$ in the same proportion as the municipality's April 1st resident pupil count bears to the total April 1st resident pupil count of the district.

Nothing contained herein shall be construed to limit the number of times that the above-named municipalities may make application to the State Board of Education, nor shall the authority granted to the State Board of Education under this Act be limited to any specified number of times for the board to authorize the above-named municipalities to act on the formation of a School Administrative District.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this Act shall take effect when approved.