MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND SECOND LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 126

S. P. 65

Referred to Committee on Judiciary. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

EDWIN H. PERT, Secretary

Presented by Senator Violette of Aroostook.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-FIVE

AN ACT Providing for an Additional District Court Judge and Relating to Composition of Certain District Court Districts.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

Sec. 1. R. S., T. 4, § 157, amended. The first paragraph of section 157 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes is amended to read as follows:

'The Governor, with the advice and consent of the Council, shall appoint to the District Court 2 judges at large and 14 15 judges. At least one judge shall be appointed in each district who shall be a resident thereof, except that in District 3 there shall be 2 judges appointed who shall be residents thereof and except that in District 9 there shall be 2 judges appointed who shall be residents thereof. Each shall have a term of office of 7 years. Each judge shall receive an annual salary of \$12,000. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court shall designate one of the judges as Chief Judge who shall receive as additional compensation annually for his service as Chief Judge, the sum of \$1,000. Each judge shall be reimbursed for his expenses actually and reasonably incurred by him in performing his duties, upon presentation to the State Controller of a detailed statement of such expenses approved by the Chief Judge.'

- Sec. 2. R. S., T. 4, § 154, sub-§ 3, amended. Subsection 3 of section 154 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes is amended to read as follows:
- '3. Third District. The 3rd district consists of the division divisions of Southern Penobscot (Bangor) and Western Penobscot (Newport).'
- Sec. 3. R. S., T. 4, § 154, sub-§ 11, amended. Subsection 11 of section 154 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes, as amended by section 4 of chapter 439 of the public laws of 1963, is further amended to read as follows:

- '11. Eleventh District. The 11th District Court judicial district consists of the divisions of Northern Androscoggin (Livermore Falls), Franklin (Farmington) Northern Oxford (Rumford) and Southern Oxford (South Paris).'
- Sec. 4. R. S., T. 4, § 154, sub-§ 12, amended. Subsection 12 of section 154 of Title 4 of the Revised Statutes is amended to read as follows:
- '12. Twelfth District. The 12th district consists of the divisions of Somerset (Skowhegan) and Western Penobscot (Newport) Franklin (Farmington).'