MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE HUNDRED AND FIRST LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1677

House of Representatives, January 14, 1964
Reported by a Minority of the Committee on Constitutional Amendments and
Legislative Reapportionment and printed pursuant to House Rule 36.
HARVEY R. PEASE, Clerk

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-FOUR

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to H. P. 1160, L. D. 1664, Resolve, to Apportion One Hundred and Fifty-one Representatives Among the Several Counties, Cities, Towns, Plantations and Classes in the State of Maine.

Amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 10th paragraph which relates to the County of Cumberland and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of Cumberland shall choose 28 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Portland, 11 Representatives; South Portland, 3 Representatives; Westbrook, 2 Representatives; Brunswick, 2 Representatives; Scarborough, one Representative; Falmouth, one Representative; Cape Elizabeth, one Representative; Gorham, one Representative; Cumberland and Harpswell, one Representative; North Yarmouth and Yarmouth, one Representative; Freeport and Pownal, one Representative; Baldwin, Bridgton, Harrison, Naples and Sebago, one Representative; Casco, Gray, New Gloucester, Otisfield and Raymond, one Representative; Standish and Windham, one Representative.'

Further amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 12th paragraph which relates to the County of Hancock and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of Hancock shall choose 5 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Brooklin, Brooksville, Castine, Cranberry Isles, Deer Isle, Sedgwick, Stonington, Swans Island and Long Island Plantation, one Representative; Bucksport, Dedham, Orland, Penobscot and Verona, one Representative; Blue Hill, Ellsworth and Surry, one Representative; Bar Harbor, Mount Desert, Southwest Harbor and Tremont, one Representative; Amherst, Aurora, Eastbrook, Franklin, Gouldsboro, Hancock, Lamoine, Mariaville, Otis, Sorrento, Sullivan, Trenton, Waltham, Winter Harbor, Osborn Plantation, No. 33 Plantation and all Unorganized Townships, one Representative.'

Further amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 17th paragraph which relates to the County of Penobscot and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of Penobscot shall choose 19 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Bangor, 5 Representatives; Brewer, one Representative; Old Town, one Representative; Millinocket, one Representative; Corinna, Exeter, Newport and Stetson, one Representative; Hampden and Newburg, one Representative; Carmel, Dixmont, Etna, Hermon, Levant and Plymouth, one Representative; Dexter and Garland, one Representative; Alton, Bradford, Charleston, Corinth, Edinburg, Glenburn, Hudson, Kenduskeag, Veazie and the Unorganized Township of Argyle, one Representative; Clifton, Eddington, Holden and Orrington, one Representative; Orono, one Representative; Bradley, Enfield, Howland, Lagrange, Maxfield, Milford and Seboeis Plantation, one Representative; Lincoln, one Representative; Burlington, Chester, Greenbush, Greenfield, Lee, Lowell, Mattawamkeag, Passadumkeag, Springfield, Winn, Woodville, Carroll Plantation, Drew Plantation, Grand Falls Plantation, Lakeville Plantation, Prentiss Plantation, Webster Plantation and the Unorganized Township of Kingman, one Representative; East Millinocket, Medway, Patten, Stacyville, Mount Chase Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Grindstone, Herseytown and Soldiertown, one Representative.'

Further amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 19th paragraph which relates to the County of Sagadahoc and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of Sagadahoc shall choose 4 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Bath, 2 Representatives; Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, Georgetown and Richmond, one Representative; Arrowsic, Phippsburg, Topsham, West Bath and Woolwich, one Representative.'

Further amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 20th paragraph which relates to the County of Somerset and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of Somerset shall choose 6 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Skowhegan, one Representative; Fairfield, one Representative; Canaan, Detroit, Palmyra and Pittsfield, one Representative; Athens, Bingham, Cambridge, Harmony, Hartland, Moscow, Ripley, St. Albans, Brighton Plantation and the Unorganized Township of Concord, one Representative; Cornville, Madison, Mercer, Norridgewock and Smithfield, one Representative; Anson, Embden, Jackman, Moose River, New Portland, Solon, Starks, Caratunk Plantation, Dennistown Plantation, Highland Plantation, Pleasant Ridge Plantation, The Forks Plantation. West Forks Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Askwith, Attean, Bigelow, Dead River, Flagstaff, Holeb, Lexington, Long Pond, Misery Gore, Moxie Gore, Rockwood, Sand Bar Tract, Sandwich Academy Tract and Seboomook, one Representative.'

Further amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 22nd paragraph which relates to the County of Washington and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of Washington shall choose 5 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Addison, Beals, Beddington, Centerville, Cherryfield, Columbia,

Columbia Falls, Deblois, Harrington, Milbridge, Steuben and Whitneyville, one Representative; East Machias, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Machias, Machiasport, Marshfield, Northfield, Roque Bluffs and Wesley, one Representative; Cooper, Crawford, Cutler, Dennysville, Lubec, Pembroke, Whiting, No. 14 Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Edmunds, Marion and Trescott, one Representative; Alexander, Charlotte, Danforth, Eastport, Meddybemps, Perry, Robbinston, Talmadge, Topsfield, Vanceboro, Waite, Codyville Plantation, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, No. 21 Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Brookton, Forest City, Indian Township, Kossuth, Lambert Lake, 10 R-3 and 27 E. D., one Representative; Baileyville, Calais, Princeton and Baring Plantation, one Representative.'

Further amend said Resolve by striking out all of the 23rd paragraph which relates to the County of York and inserting in place thereof the following:

'The County of York shall choose 16 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Biddeford, 3 Representatives; Saco, 2 Representatives; Sanford, 2 Representatives; Kittery, one Representative; Arundel and Old Orchard Beach, one Representative; Kennebunk and Kennebunkport, one Representative; North Berwick and Wells, one Representative; York, one Representative; Eliot and South Berwick, one Representative; Acton, Berwick, Lebanon and Shapleigh, one Representative; Alfred, Cornish, Limerick, Limington, Newfield, Parsonsfield and Waterboro, one Representative; Buxton, Dayton, Hollis and Lyman, one Representative.'