MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

(EMERGENCY)

ONE HUNDRED AND FIRST LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1458

H. P. 1007 House of Representatives, March 13, 1963 Referred to Committee on Education. Sent up for concurrence and ordered printed.

HARVEY R. PEASE, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Prince of Oakfield.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-THREE

AN ACT to Authorize the Municipalities of Oakfield, Island Falls, Dyer Brook, Merrill, Smyrna and Crystal to Form a School Administrative District.

Emergency preamble. Whereas, the school committees of the municipalities of Oakfield, Island Falls, Dyer Brook, Merrill, Smyrna and Crystal desire to form a School Administrative District; and

Whereas, there is a vital need for safe and adequate school facilities in the municipalities; and

Whereas, the school programs of the area could be improved and more efficiently and economically operated; and

Whereas, it is geographically impossible to meet the minimum requirement of 300 resident high school pupils in this area; and

Whereas, the Maine School District Commission cannot approve the formation of this proposed district under the criteria set out in the Revised Statutes of 1954, chapter 41, section 111-E; and

Whereas, section III-D provides that the Legislature may establish such School Administrative Districts; and

Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

School Administrative District for Oakfield, Island Falls, Dyer Brook, Merrill, Smyrna and Crystal authorized. The municipalities of Oakfield, Island Falls, Dyer Brook, Merrill, Smyrna and Crystal are exempted from the limitations provided in the Revised Statutes of 1954, chapter 41, section 111-E, as amended, and the Maine School District Commission is authorized to proceed pursuant to sections 111-F to 111-U-1 of said chapter 41, to take the necessary action to allow the municipalities of Oakfield, Island Falls, Dyer Brook, Merrill, Smyrna and Crystal to form a School Administrative District.

Nothing contained in this act shall be construed to limit the number of times that the within-named municipalities may make application to the Maine School District Commission, nor shall the authority heretofore granted to the Maine School District Commission under this act be limited to any specified number of times for the commission to authorize the within-named municipalities to act on the formation of a school administrative district.

Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this act shall take effect when approved.