MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ONE-HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 1646

H. P. 1193 House of Representatives, November 27, 1961 Committee on Reapportionment suggested.

HARVEY R. PEASE, Clerk

Presented by Mr. Kennedy of Milbridge.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-ONE

RESOLVE, to Correct Inconsistencies in the Apportionment of Representatives to the Legislature.

Resolves, 1961, c. 81, amended. Resolved: That the 5th paragraph of chapter 81 of the resolves of 1961, which relates to Franklin County, is amended to read as follows:

'The County of Franklin shall choose 4 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Jay and Wilton, one Representative; Farmington, Chesterville, New Sharon and Temple, one Representative; Carthage, Weld, Avon, Strong, Phillips, Madrid, New Vineyard, Industry, Perkins (Unorganized), and Washington Township and those residents of the Township of Freeman who reside to the south of the division of the Township of Freeman, as provided in the Private and Special Laws of 1961, chapter 98, one Representative; Kingfield, Eustis, Rangeley, Coplin Plantation, Dallas Plantation, Sandy River Plantation, Rangeley Plantation, Salem (Unorganized), Lang (Unorganized), Freeman (Unorganized) Redington (Unorganized), Coburn Gore (Unorganized), Jerusalem (Unorganized), Lowelltown (Unorganized), Gore North of 2 and 3 and those residents of the Township of Freeman who reside to the north of the division of the Township of Freeman, as provided in the Private and Special Laws of 1961, chapter 98, one Representative.'; and be it further

Resolves, 1961, c. 81, amended. Resolved: That the 8th paragraph of chapter 81 of the resolves of 1961, which relates to Knox County, is amended to read as follows:

'The County of Knox shall choose 5 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Rockland, one Representative; Thomaston, South Thomaston, Friend-

ship, Cushing and Owl's Head, one Representative; Rockport, Warren, Union and Washington, one Representative; Camden, Hope and Appleton, one Representative; Vinalhaven, North Haven, St. George, **Isle au Haut,** Matinicus Isle Plantation, Criehaven (Unorganized), Muscle Ridge (Unorganized) and Hurricane Isle (Unorganized), one Representative.'; and be it further

Resolves, 1961, c. 81, amended. Resolved: That the 11th and 12th paragraphs of chapter 81 of the resolves of 1961, which relate to Penobscot and Piscataquis Counties, are amended to read as follows:

'The County of Penobscot shall choose 18 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Bangor, 5 Representatives; Brewer, one Representative; Old Town, one Representative; Dexter and Garland, one Representative; Corinna, Exeter, Newport and Stetson, one Representative; Carmel, Dixmont, Etna, Kenduskeag, Levant, Newburgh and Plymouth, one Representative; Alton, Bradford, Charleston, Corinth, Edinburg, Hudson, Lagrange, Maxfield, Glenburn, Seboeis Plantation and Argyle (Unorganized), one Representative; Hampden and Hermon, one Representative; Orono, one Representative; Millinocket, Indian Township 3 (Norcross) (Unorganized), Indian Township 4 (Perkins) (Unorganized) and the wild land townships \bot A. R-7 and A. R-8 and 9, one Representative; Bradley, Clifton, Eddington, Greenfield, Holden, Orrington and Veazie, one Representative; Lincoln, Howland and Enfield, one Representative; Lee, Springfield, Winn, Mattawamkeag, Milford, Passadumkeag, Greenbush, Lowell, Burlington, Lakeville Plantation, Carroll Plantation, Prentiss Plantation, Drew Plantation, Webster Plantation, Grand Falls Plantation and Kingman (Unorganized), one Representative; East Millinocket, Medway, Patten, Stacyville, Woodville, Chester, Mt. Chase Plantation, and Unorganized Townships of 2 R-8, 3 R-8, 2 R-6, I R-7, one Representative.'

'The County of Piscataquis shall choose 3 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Greenville, Monson, Shirley, Wellington, Abbot, Guilford, Willimantic, Elliottsville Plantation, Blanchard Plantation, Kingsbury Plantation, Day's Academy Grant (Unorganized), Big Squaw (Unorganized), Chesuncook (Unorganized), North East Carry (Unorganized), Kineo (Unorganized), Lily Bay (Unorganized), Willimantie (Unorganized) and Little Squaw (Unorganized), one Representative; Brownville, Bowerbank, Atkinson, Milo, Sebec, Barnard Plantation, Lake View Plantation, Katahdin Iron Works (Unorganized), Williamsburg (Unorganized), Orneville (Unorganized), Medford (Unorganized) and Unorganized Townships of I R-9, 2 R-9, I R-10, 2 R-10, A. R-10, B. R-10, B. R-11, 5 R-9, 4 R-9, one Representative; Dover-Foxcroft, Sangerville and Parkman, one Representative.'; and be it further

Resolves, 1961, c. 81, amended. Resolved: That the 14th paragraph of chapter 81 of the resolves of 1961, which relates to Somerset County, is amended to read as follows:

'The County of Somerset shall choose 6 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Skowhegan, one Representative; Fairfield, one Representative; Detroit, Palmyra, Pittsfield and Canaan, one Representative; Athens, Cambridge, Harmony, Hartland, Ripley, St. Albans, Bingham, Moscow and Brighton Plantation, one Representative; Cornville, Madison, Mercer, Norridgewock and

Smithfield, one Representative; Solon, Anson, Jackman, New Portland, Moose River, Starks, Embden, Caratunk Plantation, Dennistown Plantation, Highland Plantation, Pleasant Ridge Plantation, The Forks Plantation, West Forks Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Dead River, Bigelow, Flagstaff, Lexington, Long Pond, Rockwood, Moxie Gore, Misery Gore, Seboomook, Sand Bar Tract, Sandwich Academy Tract, Askwith, Attean and, Holeb and No. 10, R-17, one Representative.'; and be it further

Resolves, 1961, c. 81, amended. Resolved: That the 16th paragraph of chapter 81 of the resolves of 1961, which relates to Washington County, is amended to read as follows:

'The County of Washington shall choose 6 Representatives to be apportioned as follows: Addison, Milbridge, Cherryfield, Columbia, Steuben, Deblois, Beddington, Harrington, Beals and Columbia Falls, one Representative; Machias, East Machias, Whitneyville, Marshfield, Northfield, Wesley, Roque Bluffs, Centerville, Jonesboro, Machiasport and Jonesport, one Representative; Lubec, Whiting, Cutler, Dennysville, No. 14 Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Trescott, Edmunds, Marion and No. 18, one Representative; Vanceboro, Danforth, Baileyville, Princeton, Waite, Talmadge, Topsfield, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Alexander, Crawford, No. 21 Plantation, Codyville Plantation, Baring Plantation and the Unorganized Townships of Brookton, Topsfield, Baring Forest City, Kossuth, Lambert Lake, No. 10, R-3, No. 27, East Division and Indian Township, one Representative; Calais, Meddybemps, Charlotte and Cooper, one Representative; Eastport, Pembroke, Perry and Robbinston, one Representative.': and be it further

Resolves, 1961, c. 81, amended. Resolved: That chapter 81 of the resolves of 1961 is amended by adding at the end, a new paragraph, as follows:

'Residents of unorganized territory. If all other legal requirements are complied with, residents of unorganized territory not apportioned within a specific area shall be allowed to register and vote in the nearest accessible organized municipality within the same county and, for this purpose, shall be considered classed in the same representative district.'