# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

### ONE-HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

## Legislative Document

No. 1629

S. P. 577 In Senate, June 5, 1961 Reported by Senator Noyes of Franklin from Committee on Constitutional State Reapportionment and Congressional Redistricting. Printed under Joint Rules No. 10.

CHESTER T. WINSLOW, Secretary

#### STATE OF MAINE

# IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SIXTY-ONE

#### RESOLVE, Dividing the State into Senatorial Districts.

Apportionment of senatorial districts. Resolved: That for the 101st Legislature and the succeeding Legislatures to and including that of the year 1971, the State be divided into 16 districts for the choice of Senators, and each district shall be entitled to elect the number of Senators herein provided, in the manner prescribed by the Constitution.

The County of York shall form the 1st district, and be entitled to elect 3 Senators.

The County of Cumberland shall form the 2nd district, and be entitled to elect 4 Senators.

The County of Oxford shall form the 3rd district, and be entitled to elect 2 Senators.

The County of Androscoggin shall form the 4th district, and be entitled to elect 3 Senators.

The County of Franklin shall form the 5th district, and be entitled to elect I Senator.

The County of Sagadahoc shall form the 6th district, and be entitled to elect I Senator.

The County of Kennebec shall form the 7th district, and be entitled to elect 3 Senators.

The County of Somerset shall form the 8th district, and be entitled to elect 2 Senators.

The County of Piscataquis shall form the 9th district, and be entitled to elect I Senator.

The County of Penobscot shall form the 10th district, and be entitled to elect 4 Senators.

The County of Lincoln shall form the 11th district, and be entitled to elect 1 Senator.

The County of Knox shall form the 12th district, and be entitled to elect 1 Senator.

The County of Waldo shall form the 13th district, and be entitled to elect 1 Senator.

The County of Hancock shall form the 14th district, and be entitled to elect 2 Senators.

The County of Washington shall form the 15th district, and be entitled to elect 2 Senators.

The County of Aroostook shall form the 16th district, and be entitled to elect 3 Senators.