MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



AUQUSTA, MAINE

NO. __15FY 79/80

AN ORDER AMENDING THE SYSTEM OF PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT DISTRICTS PREVIOUSLY ESTABLISHED AND AMENDED

WHEREAS, it is the policy of this administration to encourage the development of a planning and development system in which Federal, State and local interests work together in proper planning for and development of the State as authorized by existing provisions of the law; and

WHEREAS, the Act Relating to Regional Planning and the Establishment of Regional Councils of Governments, as amended, as codified in M.R.S.A., Title 30, Sections 4521-23, authorizes the Governor to designate regional planning and development districts; and

WHEREAS, a system of planning and development districts was established by Executive Order dated January 26, 1972 and amended by an Executive Order dated December 20, 1974; and

WHEREAS, responsible public officials in the town of Richmond have expressed interest in being included in the Midcoast Planning and Development District; and

WHEREAS, the town of Fayette has for several years been a de facto member of the Southern Kennebec Valley Regional Planning Commission, and the town of Otisfield, now a part of Oxford County, has not participated in the Greater Portland Council of Governments, and the town of Freeport has for several years been a member of the Greater Portland Council of Governments; and

WHEREAS, certain wildland townships in Franklin, Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataguis Somerset and Washington Counties might better be included in the planning and development district, or sub-district, that covers the other unorganized areas of those counties; and

WHEREAS, the various municipalities, counties and regional planning commissions involved have concurred in these readjustments of boundaries;

NOW THEREFORE, I, Joseph E. Brennan, Governor of the State of Maine, by virtue of the authority vested in me do hereby order and direct:

- 1. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Kennebec Planning and Development District, Southern Kennebec Valley sub-district, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include the town of Fayette and to exclude the town of Richmond.
- That the territorial jurisdiction of the Midcoast Planning and Development District, Southern Midcoast sub-district, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include the town of Richmond, and to exclude the town of Freeport.

- 3. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Androscoggin Planning and Development District, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include the town of Otisfield and to include those unorganized areas of Franklin County currently in the Kennebec Planning and Development District and to exclude the town of Fayette.
- 4. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Cumberland Planning and Development District, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include the town of Freeport and to exclude the town of Otisfield.
- 5. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Penobscot Planning and Development District, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include islands in Moosehead Lake within Piscataquis County and T5 RI NBPP and to exclude T32 M.D., T40 M.D., T41 M.D., T3 N.D., T4 N.D., T8 R3 NBPP, T8 R4 NBPP and Kossuth Twp. and those unorganized areas of Somerset County currently within the District.
- 6. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Eastern Maine Planning and Development District, Hancock County sub-district, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include T32 M.D., T 40 M.D., T41, M.D., T3 N.D. and T4 N.D.
- 7. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Eastern Maine Planning and Development District, Washington County sub-district, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include T8 R3 NBPP, T8 R4 NBPP and Kossuth Twp. and to exclude T5 R1 NBPP.
- 8. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Northern Maine Planning and Development District, as heretofore established, be adjusted to exclude those unorganized areas of Somerset County currently within the District.
- 9. That the territorial jurisdiction of the Kennebec Planning and Development District, North Kennebec sub-district, as heretofore established, be adjusted to include those unorganized areas of Somerset County currently within the Northern Maine and Penobscot Planning and Development Districts and to exclude those unorganized areas of Franklin and Piscataquis Counties currently within the District.

JOSEPH E. BRENNAN