MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 116TH LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION

BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

MAY 1994

MEMBERS:

*Sen. Georgette B. Berube Sen. Donald E. Esty, Jr. Sen. Jeffrey H. Butland

*Rep. Ruth Joseph Rep. Marge L. Kilkelly Rep. Glenith C. Gray Rep. Lucien A. Dutremble Rep. Douglas J. Ahearne Rep. G. Steven Rowe Rep. Ellen W. Walker Rep. Theone F. Look Rep. Richard A. Bennett Rep. Paul R. Young

*Denotes Chair

Staff:

Roy Lenardson, Legislative Analyst David C. Elliott, Principal Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207)287-1670 MARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
WILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR., PRINCIPAL ANALYST
JULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
MARION HYLAN BARR
JON CLARK
LISA COPENHAVER
DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
MICHAEL D. HIGGINS

JILL IPPOLITI



ROY W. LENARDSON
PATRICK NORTON
JANE ORBETON
MARGARET J. REINSCH
PAUL J. SAUCIER
JOHN G. KELLEY, RESEARCHER
DARLENE A. SHORES LYNCH, RESEARCHER
CARRIE C. McFADDEN, RESEARCHER

JOHN B. KNOX

STATE OF MAINE

OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL: (207) 287-1670 FAX (207) 287-1275

ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTEENTH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES

MAY 1994

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The volume is organized alphabetically by committee; within each committee, the summaries are arranged by LD number. A subject index is provided at the beginning of each committee's summaries.

The committee report or reports, the prime sponsor for each bill and the lead co-sponsor in each house if one has been designated are listed below each bill title. All adopted amendments are listed, by paper number, together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action on each bill is listed to the right of the title. Various types of final action are abbreviated as follows:

PUBLIC XXX Chapter # of enacted Public Law P&S XXX Chapter # of enacted Private & Special Law RESOLVE XXX Chapter # of enacted Resolve **CON RES XXX** Chapter # of Constitutional Resolution passed by both Houses **EMERGENCY** Enacted law takes effect sooner than 90 days **ONTP** Ought Not to Pass report accepted INDEF PP Bill Indefinitely Postponed FAILED ENACTMENT Bill failed to get majority vote Emergency bill failed to get 2/3 vote FAILED EMERGENCY ENACTMENT Bill imposing local mandate failed to get 2/3 vote FAILED MANDATE ENACTMENT DIED BETWEEN BODIES House & Senate disagree; bill died Committee of Conference unable to agree; bill died CONF CMTE UNABLE TO AGREE **VETO SUSTAINED** Legislature failed to override Governor's Veto UNSIGNED Not signed by Governor within 10 days DIED ON ADJOURNMENT Action incomplete when session ended; bill died

These summaries were prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. If you have any suggestions or comments on the summaries, please let us know.

5581LHS

LD 1733

An Act to Apportion Districts for the Election of County Commissioners

OTP-AM

PUBLIC 554 EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

H-741

H-758 AHEARNE S-436 BERUBE

SUMMARY

This bill implements the Apportionment Commission's County Apportionment Plan for the county commissioner districts.

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" (H-741) makes technical amendments in the bill and adds an emergency preamble and emergency clause.

HOUSE AMENDMENT "A" TO COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" (H-758) clarifies the expiration dates of the terms of the county commissioners for Aroostook County and also removes the reference to the unorganized territory of Benedicta in the Maine Revised Statutes, section 66, subsection 2, paragraph A.

SENATE AMENDMENT "A" TO COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" (S-436) retains the clarifying language regarding Aroostook County commissioners and restores reference to Benedicta as an unorganized territory as provided in the committee amendment.

LD 1736 AN ACT to Change Statutory References to the Maine Teachers
Association to the Maine Education Association

P & S 67

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

OLIVER

SPONSOR(S)

OTP-AM

H-742

SUMMARY

In June 1993, the Maine Teachers Association's Representative Assembly voted to change the association's name to the Maine Education Association. This bill makes the necessary changes in the statutes from the Maine Teachers Association to the Maine Education Association.

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" (H-742) adds a fiscal note to the bill.

LD 1738 An Act to Repeal Sanctions against Businesses Doing Business in South Africa

PUBLIC 530

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

ADAMS

OTP

SUMMARY

This bill repeals sanctions against businesses doing business in South Africa.