MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 116TH LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION

BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

JULY 1993

MEMBERS:

*Sen. Georgette B. Berube Sen. Donald E. Esty, Jr. Sen. Jeffrey H. Butland

*Rep. Ruth Joseph Rep. Marge L. Kilkelly Rep. Glenith C. Gray Rep. Lucien A. Dutremble Rep. Douglas J. Ahearne Rep. G. Steven Rowe Rep. Ellen W. Walker Rep. Theone F. Look Rep. Richard A. Bennett Rep. Paul R. Young

*Denotes Chair

Staff:

Roy Lenardson, Legislative Analyst David C. Elliott, Principal Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207)287-1670 MARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
WILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR., PRINCIPAL ANALYST
JULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
DAVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
MARION HYLAN BARR
JON CLARK
LISA COPENHAVER
DEBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
MICHAEL D. HIGGINS

JILL IPPOLITI



JOHN B. KNOX
ROY W. LENARDSON
PATRICK NORTON
JANE ORBETON
MARGARET J. REINSCH
PAUL J. SAUCIER
JOHN G. KELLEY, RESEARCHER
DARLENE A. SHORES LYNCH, RESEARCHER
CARRIE C. McFADDEN, RESEARCHER

STATE OF MAINE
OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL: (207) 287-1670

FAX (207) 287-1670

ONE HUNDRED AND SIXTEENTH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES

JULY 1993

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The volume is organized alphabetically by committee; within each committee, the summaries are arranged by LD number. A subject index is provided at the beginning of each committee's summaries.

The committee report or reports, the prime sponsor for each bill and the lead co-sponsor in each house if one has been designated are listed below each bill title. All adopted amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action on each bill is listed to the right of the title. Various types of final action are abbreviated as follows:

PUBLIC XXX Chapter # of enacted Public Law P&S XXX Chapter # of enacted Private & Special Law RESOLVE XXX Chapter # of enacted Resolve Chapter # of Constitutional Resolution passed by both Houses CON RES XXX Enacted law takes effect sooner than 90 days **EMERGENCY** CARRIED OVER Bill carried over to Second Session Ought Not to Pass report accepted ONTP ENACTMENT FAILED Bill failed to get majority vote INDEF PP Bill Indefinitely Postponed FAILED EMERGENCY ENACTMENT Emergency bill failed to get 2/3 vote FAILED MANDATE ENACTMENT Bill imposing local mandate failed to get 2/3 vote **DIED BETWEEN BODIES** House & Senate disagree; bill died CONF CMTE UNABLE TO AGREE Committee of Conference formed but unable to agree **VETO SUSTAINED** Legislature failed to override Governor's Veto UNSIGNED Not signed by Governor within 10 days DIED ON ADJOURNMENT Action incomplete when session ended; bill died

These summaries were prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including secretaries: Charlene Raymond and Valarie Parlin.

If you have any suggestions or comments on these summaries, please let us know.

4693NRG

LD 1558

An Act to Revise the Salaries of Certain County Officers

PUBLIC 408 EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

SUMMARY

This bill enacts the 1993 salaries of county officers in Androscoggin, Kennebec, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset and York counties.

4827NRG