MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

STATE OF MAINE 115TH LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION

BILL SUMMARIES JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

MAY 1992

MEMBERS:

*Sen. Georgette B. Berube Sen. Beverly Miner Bustin Sen. Jerome A. Emerson

*Rep. Ruth Joseph Rep. Conrad Heeschen Rep. Anne M. Larrivee Rep. Glenith C. Gray Rep. George J. Kerr Rep. Merton C. Waterman Rep. Theone F. Look Rep. Lawrence F. Nash Rep. Elmer N. Savage Rep. Marge Kilkelly

*Denotes Chair

Staff:

Karen L. Hruby, Legislative Analyst

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis Room 101, State House Station 13 Augusta, ME 04333 (207)287-1670 IARTHA E. FREEMAN, DIRECTOR
/ILLIAM T. GLIDDEN, JR., PRINCIPAL ANALYST
ULIE S. JONES, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
'AVID C. ELLIOTT, PRINCIPAL ANALYST
ON CLARK
YAN M. DYTTMER
'RO FLATEBO
EBORAH C. FRIEDMAN
IICHAEL D. HIGGINS
ANE ORBETON



STATE OF MAINE
OFFICE OF POLICY AND LEGAL ANALYSIS

ROOM 101/107/135 STATE HOUSE STATION 13 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 TEL.: (207) 289-1670 KAREN L. HRUBY
JILL IPPOLITI
JOHN B. KNOX
PATRICK NORTON
MARGARET J. REINSCH
PAUL J. SAUCIER
HAVEN WHITESIDE
MILA M. DWELLEY, RES. ASST.
ROY W. LENARDSON, RES. ASST.
BRET A. PRESTON, RES. ASST.

ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEENTH LEGISLATURE SECOND REGULAR SESSION

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE BILL SUMMARIES

MAY 1992

This document is a compilation of the bill summaries prepared by this office for the Joint Standing Committees and Joint Select Committees of the Maine Legislature. The volume is organized alphabetically by committee; within each committee, the summaries are arranged by LD number. A subject index is provided at the beginning of each committee's summaries.

All adopted amendments are listed, by paper number (e.g., H-584 or S-222), together with the sponsor for floor amendments. Final action on each bill is listed to the far right of the title. Various types of final action are abbreviated as follows:

PUBLIC XXX
P&S XXX
RESOLVE XXX
CON RES XXX
EMERGENCY
CARRIED OVER
ONTP
LVWD
INDEF PP
FAILED EMERGENCY ENACTMENT
DIED BETWEEN BODIES
CONF CMTE UNABLE TO AGREE
VETO SUSTAINED
UNSIGNED
DIED ON ADJOURNMENT

Chapter # of enacted Public Law
Chapter # of enacted Private & Special Law
Chapter # of enacted Resolve
Chapter # of Constitutional Resolution passed by both Houses
Enacted law takes effect sooner than 90 days
Bill carried over to Special Session
Ought Not to Pass report accepted
Leave to Withdraw report accepted
Bill Indefinitely Postponed
Emergency bill failed to get 2/3 vote
House and Senate disagree; bill died
Committee of Conference formed but unable to agree
Legislature filed to override Governor's Veto
Not signed by Governor within 10 days
Action incomplete when session ended; bill died

These summaries were prepared by the analyst or analysts assigned to the committee. But, this document was produced by the efforts of all the office staff, including secretaries: Charlene Raymond and Valarie Parlin, especially Laurette Knox who coordinated preparation of the overall document.

If you have any suggestions or comments on these summaries, please let us know.

LD 2280

An Act to Authorize a Bond Issue of \$300,000 to Expand the Sagadahoc County Courthouse to Include Detention Facilities

P & S 93 EMERGENCY

SPONSOR(S)

COMMITTEE REPORT

OTP-AM

AMENDMENTS ADOPTED

COLES

SMALL

CAHILL P HOLT H-1063

SUMMARY

This bill authorized the Sagadahoc County commissioners to seek approval from county voters to raise \$300,000 for construction of a detention facility at the Sagadahoc County Courthouse.

Committee amendment A (H-1063) advanced the authorized date of initial bond repayment from 1994 to 1993 and lengthened the time period allowed between the passage of the bill and the referendum. It also added a new section exempting the county request from the statutory requirement for the state to fund municipal mandates.

LD 2292

An Act Concerning the Bureau of Intergovernmental Drug Enforcement

PUBLIC 841

| SPONSOR(S) | COMMITTEE REPORT | | AMENDMENTS ADOPTED | |
|------------|------------------|-----|--------------------|-----------|
| CARROLL D | OTP-AM | MAJ | H-1106 | MAJ REP |
| TRACY | OTP-AM | MIN | H-1186 | CARROLL D |
| BAILEY H | | | H-1282 | JOSEPH . |
| L00K | | | S-739 | BERUBE |

SUMMARY

This bill eliminated the Bureau of Intergovernmental Drug Enforcement and replaced it with the Maine Drug Enforcement Agency, which is established as a division of the State Police.

The majority Committee amendment A (H-1106) was the result of negotiations between the bill sponsors, representatives of the Department of Public Safety and county sheriffs, with final input from the committee. It retained the name change from the original bill, but kept the Maine Drug Enforcement Agency established within the Department of Public Safety. Changes were also made in the membership of the Maine Drug Enforcement Agency Advisory Board and confidentiality provisions. The amendment required that the director of the agency be confirmed by the Legislature. It also required that the Attorney General develop a protocol to govern the selection of the state or federal court system for the prosecution of drug cases investigated by the agency.

House amendment A to Committee amendment A (H-1186) clarified the appointment process for the advisory board and other language in the bill.

House amendment A (H-1282) struck the emergency preamble and emergency clause from the bill.

Senate amendment A (S-739) changed the way in which the Director of the Maine Drug Enforcement Agency was selected and removed the requirement for legislative confirmation.