## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### DOCUMENTS

PRINTED BY ORDER OF

## THE LEGISLATURE

OF THE

### STATE OF MAINE,

DUBING ITS SESSIONS

A. D. 1851-2.

Augusta:
WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, PRINTER TO THE STATE.

1852.

#### THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE.

No. 31.]

[SENATE.

#### STATE OF MAINE.

The Joint Special Committee on Congressional Apportionment have had the same under consideration, and ask leave to Report, that two hundred and fifty copies of the amendment to Mr. Walker's Bill, which is herewith submitted, be printed for the use of the Committee.

JAMES T. LEAVITT, Chairman.

In Senate, March 16, 1852.

Read and accepted.

Sent down for concurrence.

ALBERT H. SMALL, Secretary.

House of Representatives, March 16, 1852.

Read and concurred.

EDMUND W. FLAGG, Clerk.

Wm. T. Johnson, Printer to the State.

# CONGRESSIONAL APPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE.

York, Titcomb, Dennett, Boothby.

Cumberland, Mann, Merrill, Hall.

Oxford, Walker, Ludden, Walker.

Lincoln, Carlton, Farley, Tolman.

Waldo, Lancaster, Smart, Young.

Kennebec, Garland, Small, Morton.

Penobscot, Boynton, Hancock, Cochran.

Somerset, Leavitt, White, Webster.

Washington, Fowler, Smith, Talbot.

Hancock, Brown, Emerson, Hopkins.

Piscataquis, Bell.

Aroostook, Cary.

Franklin, Mitchell, Prescott.

## Amendment offered by Mr. Farley of Newcastle, to the Bill introduced by Mr. Walker.

Amend the first section as follows:

Strike out all after the tenth line in the first section, and insert—

The county of Lincoln, together with the towns of

- 2 Windsor, Pittston, Chelsea, Litchfield, Kennebec,
- 3 Winthrop, West Gardiner, the city of Gardiner, and
- 4 the city of Hallowell, from the county of Kennebec,
- 5 shall compose the third district, and be entitled to one
- 6 representative.
- 7 The county of Waldo, together with that part of
- 8 the county of Kennebec, not included in the third
- 9 district, shall compose the fourth district, and be en-
- 10 titled to one representative.
- 11 The counties of Somerset and Piscataquis, together
- 12 with that part of the county of Penobscot, not in-
- 13 cluded in the sixth district, shall compose the fifth
- 14 district, and be entitled to one representative.
- 15 The counties of Aroostook, Washington and Han-

16 cock, together with the towns of Orrington, Brewer, 17 Eddington, Clifton, Bradley, Milford, Greenbush, 18 Passadumkeag, Enfield, Lowell and Burlington, in 19 the county of Penobscot, together with townships 20 numbered three, four and five, in the first range, in 21 said county, shall compose the sixth district, and be

22 entitled to one representative.