MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

DOCUMENTS

PRINTED BY ORDER OF

THE LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

DUBING ITS SESSIONS

A. D. 1851-2.

Augusta:
WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, PRINTER TO THE STATE.

1852.

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE.

No. 30.]

[SENATE.

STATE OF MAINE.

The Joint Special Committee on Congressional Apportionment have had the same under consideration, and ask leave to Report, that two hundred and fifty copies of the amendment which is herewith submitted, be printed for the use of the Committee.

JAMES T. LEAVETT, Chairman.

In Senate, March 11, 1852.

Read and accepted.

Sent down for concurrence.

ALBERT H. SMALL, Secretary.

House of Representatives, March 13, 1852.

Read and concurred.

EDMUND W. FLAGG, Clerk.

Wm. T. Johnson, Printer to the State.

Amendment offered by Mr. Smart to the Bill introduced by Mr. Walker.

Amend the first section as follows:

Strike out all after the tenth line in the first section, and insert—

The county of Kennebec, except those towns in

- 2 Kennebec included in the fifth district, together with
- 3 the towns of Lisbon, Lewiston, West Bath, Bowdoin,
- 4 Bowdoinham, Phipsburg, Richmond, Topsham, Web-
- 5 ster, Arrowsic, Dresden, Georgetown, Wiscasset,
- 6 Woolwich, Perkins, Alna, Westport, and the city of
- 7 Bath, in the county of Lincoln, together with the
- 8 towns of Fairfield, Bloomfield, Mercer, Norridgewock
- 9 and Smithfield, from Somerset county, shall compose
- 10 the third district, and be entitled to one Representa-
- 11 tive.
- 12 The county of Waldo, together with that part of
- 13 Lincoln not annexed to the third congressional dis-
- 14 trict, with the towns of Windsor, China, Winslow,
- 15 Albion, Benton, Clinton, Clinton gore and Albion

- 16 gore, in the county of Kennebec, shall compose the
- 17 fourth district, and be entitled to one representative.
- 18 All of the county of Penobscot not included in the
- 19 sixth district; the county of Piscataquis, and the re-
- 20 mainder of Somerset not included in the third district,
- 21 shall compose the fifth district, and be entitled to
- 22 one representative.
- 23 The counties of Hancock, Washington and Aroos-
- 24 took, together with the towns of Brewer, Clifton,
- 25 Eddington, Orrington, Bradley, Greenbush, Milford,
- 26 Passadumkeag, Burlington, Lowell and Enfield, in
- 27 the county of Penobscot, shall compose the sixth dis-
- 28 trict, and be entitled to one representative.