MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED BY THE

ONE HUNDRED AND TWELFTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION

December 5, 1984 to June 20, 1985 Chapters 1-384

PUBLISHED BY THE REVISOR OF STATUTES IN ACCORDANCE WITH MAINE REVISED STATUTES ANNOTATED, TITLE 3, SECTION 163-A, SUBSECTION 4.

J.S. McCarthy Co., Inc. Augusta, Maine 1986

PUBLIC LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

AS PASSED AT THE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION

of the

ONE HUNDRED AND TWELFTH LEGISLATURE

1985

CHAPTER 260

H.P. 194 - L.D. 228

AN ACT to Provide County Commissioner Districts in Washington County.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 30 MRSA $\S105-W$, sub- $\S16$ is enacted to read:
- 16. Creation of Washington County Commissioner Districts. Washington County shall be divided into the following 3 districts:
 - A. Commissioner District Number 1, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Calais, Danforth, Topsfield, Indian Township Voting District, unorganized territories of T8 R4, Forest City T9 R4, Forest T10 R3, T8 R3, Brookton Township, T11 R3, Lambert Lake T1 R3, Kossuth T7 R2, T6 R1, Dyer T1 R2, Fowler T1 R1, T5 ND, T6 ND, T42 MD, T43 MD, T27 ED, T36 MD, T37 MD and T26 ED, Vanceboro, Codyville Plantation, Waite, Talmadge, Grand Lake Stream Plantation, Plantation Number 21, Princeton, Baileyville, Alexander, Crawford, Meddybemps and Baring Plantation;
 - B. Commissioner District Number 2, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of East Machias, Machiasport, Northfield, Robbinston, Perry, Charlotte, Wesley, Cooper, Plantation Number 14, Dennysville, Whiting, Cutler, unorganized territories of T30 MD, T31 MD, T25 MD, T19 ED, T18 ED and Marion, Edmunds and Trescott, Lubec, Pembroke, Pleasant Point Voting District and Eastport; and
 - C. Commissioner District Number 3, consisting of the municipalities and unorganized territories of Deblois, Cherryfield, Steuben, Milbridge, Harrington, Addison, Jonesport, Beals, Beddington, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Centerville, Jonesboro, Roque Bluffs, Whitneyville, Marshfield and Machias and unorganized territories of Deveraux T29 MD, T24 MD, T18 MD and T19 MD.

Members of the board of commissioners shall be residents of the commissioner district from which they were elected and shall be elected by the qualified voters of that district.

Sec. 2. Referendum; certificate to Secretary of State. The Washington County Commissioners shall submit this bill to the legal voters of Washington County by ballot at the next general election in the month of November or at a special election on the Tuesday following the first Monday of November following the passage of this bill, whichever comes first.

The Washington County Board of Commissioners are authorized to expend such funds as are necessary to implement the referendum.

The county clerk shall prepare the required ballots on which he shall state the subject matter of this bill in the following question:

"Shall Washington County be divided into 3 county commissioner districts each to elect 1 county commissioner who must be a resident of that district?"

The voters shall indicate by a cross or a check mark placed against the words "Yes" or "No" their opinion of the same.

Sections 1 and 3 of this bill shall take effect for all the purposes hereof immediately upon its acceptance by a majority of the legal voters voting at that election; provided that the total number of votes cast for and against the acceptance of this bill equals or exceeds 30% of the total votes for all candidates for Governor cast in the next previous gubernatorial election in that county.

The results of the election shall be declared by the Washington County Board of Commissioners and due certificates thereof filed by the county clerk with the Secretary of State.

Sec. 3. Transition. The transition of the Washington County District System shall be made in the following manner. In 1986, a commissioner resident of Commissioner District Number 3 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1988, a commissioner resident of Commissioner District Number 1 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. In 1988, a commissioner resident of Commissioner District Number 2 shall be elected by the qualified electors of that district. Thereafter, elections shall continue in a manner so that each

district shall at all times have a commissioner elected from that district on the board.

Effective Pending Referendum.

CHAPTER 261

H.P. 366 - L.D. 486

AN ACT to Allow Sheriffs' Deputies to Hold Nonpartisan Local Office.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

30 MRSA §951, last ¶, as repealed and replaced by PL 1981, c. 394, §4, is amended to read:

A full-time deputy shall not hold the municipal office of selectman, city councilman or budget committeeman or any ether municipal, county or state office, and may reside outside the county during the term of his appointment only with the permission of the sheriff and county commissioners.

Effective September 19, 1985.

CHAPTER 262

S.P. 320 - L.D. 809

AN ACT Concerning Misuse of Dealer Plates and Clarification of Dealer Plate Provisions.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 29 MRSA §350-A, sub-§1, ¶¶J and K, as enacted by PL 1977, c. 694, §497, are amended to read:
 - J. Failure to appear at a hearing required by the Secretary of State; $\bullet r$
 - K. Failure to comply or to maintain compliance with section $832 \div ;$ or