

ACTS AND RESOLVES

AS PASSED BY THE

One Hundredth Legislature

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

Published by the Director of Legislative Research in accordance with the Revised Statutes of 1954, Chapter 10, Section 27, Subsection VI.

> KENNEBEC JOURNAL AUGUSTA, MAINE 1961

RESOLVES

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE

As Passed by the One Hundredth Legislature

1961

1266 CHAP. 120

RESOLVES, 1961

Chapter 119

RESOLVE, Appropriating Moneys for Vocational and Technical Institute in Northeastern Maine.

Vocational and Technical Institute; appropriation for. Resolved: That the Department of Education establish an area vocational and technical institution at a location in northeastern Maine, to be determined by the State Board of Education, to provide specialized post-secondary vocational and technical training for high school graduates, vocational and technical training for those who have reached their 18th birthday but who have not been graduated from high school, and for adults who give evidence of special aptitude or need and who desire specialized or refresher training for employment in service of trade, industry or commerce; and be it further

Resolved: That the Department of Education is authorized and empowered to receive such gifts and donations, either from public or private sources, as may be offered unconditionally; and be it further

Resolved: That there is appropriated from the Unappropriated Surplus of the General Fund the sum of \$250,000 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1962 to carry out the purposes of this resolve. The appropriation shall not lapse but shall remain a continuing carrying account until the purposes of this resolve have been accomplished.

Effective September 16, 1961

Chapter 120

RESOLVE, Dividing the State into Senatorial Districts.

Apportionment of senatorial districts. Resolved: That for the 101st Legislature and the succeeding Legislatures to and including that of the year 1971, the State be divided into 16 districts for the choice of Senators, and each district shall be entitled to elect the number of Senators herein provided, in the manner prescribed by the Constitution.

The County of York shall form the 1st district, and be entitled to elect 3 Senators.

The County of Cumberland shall form the 2nd district, and be entitled to elect 4 Senators.

The County of Oxford shall form the 3rd district, and be entitled to elect 2 Senators.

The County of Androscoggin shall form the 4th district, and be entitled to elect 3 Senators.

The County of Franklin shall form the 5th district, and be entitled to elect one Senator.

The County of Sagadahoc shall form the 6th district, and be entitled to elect one Senator.