

## ACTS AND RESOLVES

OF THE

# SIXTIETH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

# STATE OF MAINE.

# 1881.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 18, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

> AUGUSTA: SPRAGUE & SON, PRINTERS TO THE STATE. 1881.

## PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

#### 08 118

# STATE OF MAINE.

# 1881.

### Chapter 1.

An act to incorporate the Ocean Park Association.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

SECT. 1. Oren B. Cheney, Silas W. Cook, Charles F. Corporators. Penney, Benjamin F. Haley, Benjamin F. Hayes, Payson Tucker, James T. Furber, Ethnan W. Porter, Isaac D. Stewart, Hollis K. Clark, Rufus Deering, Harrison F. Wood, Obadiah Durgin, Levi W. Stone, Hiram Knowlton, Abial M. Jones, Lindley M. Webb, George S. Ricker, Edward P. Prescott, Aura L. Gerrish, John Malvern, William M. Dow, William H. Smith, Benjamin C. Jordan, Charles Bridge, Isaac B. Piper, Jesse C. Connor, George E. Smith, Calvin F. Bonney, James Walker, Asa C. Russell, David H. Varnum, Oliver B. Clason, their associates, and successors, are hereby created a corporation under the name of the Ocean Corporate name. Park Association.

Said corporation may take and hold, for the May take, hold and convey real eir association, by purchase, bequest, gift or and personal estate. SECT. 2. objects of their association, by purchase, bequest, gift or otherwise, real and personal estate, the annual income of which shall not exceed five thousand dollars, with power to sell Such estate shall be held for benevoand convey the same. lent purposes, the primary object being to establish a place of Purposes. summer resort for holding religious, educational and other

Снар. 2.

York.

Membership and quorum.

By-laws.

Officers

SECT. 3. The number of members of said corporation shall not exceed seventy-five, nor be less than twenty-five, fifteen of whom shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The corporation may provide in its by-laws for filling vacancies, electing additional members, and declaring membership forfeited for failure to attend the meetings of the corporation.

SECT. 4. The officers of the corporation shall consist of a president, secretary, treasurer, and a board of directors of eleven members, of which the president, secretary and treasurer shall ex officio be three, to be elected annually, but to hold office until others are elected in their stead. The officers shall perform such duties as may be prescribed in the by-laws. The directors shall exercise the powers of the corporation, except as otherwise provided in the laws of the State, this charter or the by-laws.

SECT. 5. The first three persons named in this act, or any two of them may call the first meeting by mailing to each corporator a notice of the time and place thereof, at least seven days before the time of holding said meeting.

SECT. 6. This charter is granted because the objects of the corporation cannot otherwise be attained.

SECT. 7. This act shall take effect when approved.

Approved January 24, 1881.

Chapter 2.

An act to incorporate the Dyer Library Association.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows :

SECT. 1. John C. Bradbury, Edward Eastman, Ira H. Foss, Hampden Fairfield, George A. Emery, John T. G. Nichols, Cornelius Sweetser, J. W. Hobson, and John Chadwick, are hereby constituted a body corporate under the name of the Dyer Library Association.

SECT. 2. Said association shall have a common seal, and may hold real and personal property to the amount of one hundred thousand dollars.

Corporators.

Corporate name.

To have seal and hold property

Duties and powers.

First meeting, how called.

Charter, why granted.