MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

ACTS AND RESOLVES

PASSED BY THE

TWENTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

A. D. 1848.

Published by the Secretary of State, agreeably to Resolves of June 28, 1820, February 26, 1840, and March 16, 1842.

Augusta:

WILLIAM T. JOHNSON, PRINTER TO THE STATE.

PRIVATE AND SPECIAL LAWS

OF THE

STATE OF MAINE,

1848.

Снар. 180.

Chapter 180.

An act for the relief of the towns of Fryeburg and Denmark.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Exempted from the payment of a portion of the state and county tax for 1848. The town of Fryeburg is hereby exempted from the payment of thirty-six dollars of the state tax, and eighteen dollars of the county tax, assessed upon that town for the year eighteen hundred and forty-eight. And the town of Denmark is hereby exempted from the payment of twenty-four dollars of the state tax, and twelve dollars of the county tax, assessed upon that town for the same year; which exemptions and abatements are made by reason of a portion of said towns having been set off and annexed to the town of Bridgton.

[Approved August 10, 1848.]

Chapter 181.

An act to incorporate the East Thomaston Bank.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in Legislature assembled, as follows:

Corporators.

Sect. 1. John Spofford, Nathan A. Farwell, Alfred H. Kimball, William Thomas, Henry C. Lowell, Charles W. Snow, Bradford Kimball, Benjamin Litchfield, Archibald C. Spaulding, Henry Spaulding, Joshua Bartlett, junior, Benjamin Sawyer, John T. Berry, George Thorndike, Ephraim Hall, Selah, G. Dennis, Benjamin W. Lothrop, Hiram G. Berry, Samuel Pillsbury, Thomas R. Pillsbury, John W. Hunt, Edwin S. Hovey, Joseph Farewell, George W. Kimball, Charles A. Farewell, Samuel Duncan, Jonas R. Bartlett, Richard Keating, and Andrew G. Luce, their associates, successors and asigns, are hereby incorporated into a company by the name of the President, Directors, and Company of the East Thomaston Bank.

Corporate name. Capital stock.

Sect. 2. The capital stock of said bank shall be fifty thousand dollars, divided into shares of one hundred dollars each, and said bank shall be located and established in East Thomaston in the county of Lincoln.

Powers, privileges and liabilities.

SECT. 3. Said corporators are hereby authorized and empowered to exercise all the rights and privileges conferred upon such corporations by the laws of this state, and subject to all the liabilities and restrictions thereof.

[Approved August 10, 1848.]