# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

#### NINETY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE

### Legislative Document

No. 1373

In Senate, March 19, 1953

Senate Amendment "A" to S. P. 493, L. D. 1347. Read and adopted. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

CHESTER T. WINSLOW, Secretary

#### STATE OF MAINE

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED. FIFTY-THREE

Senate Amendment "A" to S. P. 493, L. D. 1347, "Resolve, to Apportion One Hundred and Fifty-one Representatives Among the Several Counties, Cities, Towns, Plantations and Classes in the State of Maine."

Amend said resolve by striking out the paragraph which relates to the County of Hancock and inserting in place thereof the following:

The county of Hancock shall choose six representatives to be apportioned as follows: Brooklin, Brooksville, Deer Isle, Sedgwick, Stonington, and the unorganized territory of Bear Island, Eagle Island, and Great Spruce Head, one representative; Bucksport, Castine, Dedham, Penobscot, Orland, and Verona, one representative; Bluehill, Ellsworth, Surry, and Number Eight S. D. (unorganized), one representative; Bar Harbor, Hancock, and Trenton, one representative; Cranberry Isle, Lamoine, Long Island Plantation, Mt. Desert, Tremont, Southwest Harbor, and Swan's Island, one representative; Amherst, Aurora, Eastbrook, Franklin, Gouldsboro, Mariaville, Osborn Plantation, Otis, Plantation Number Twenty-one, Plantation Number Thirty-three, Sorrento, Sullivan, Waltham, Winter Harbor, Number Three N. D. B. P. P. (unorganized), and Number Ten S. D. (unorganized), one representative.

Further amend said resolve by striking out the paragraph which relates to the County of Lincoln and inserting in place thereof the following:

The county of Lincoln shall choose three representatives to be apportioned as follows: Alna, Jefferson, Newcastle, Somerville, Waldoboro, and White-

field, one representative; Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bristol, Monhegan, Muscongus Island, South Bristol, and Southport, one representative; Bremen, Dresden, Damariscotta, Edgecomb, Nobleboro, Westport, and Wiscasset, one representative.

Further amend said resolve by striking out the paragraph which relates to the County of Penobscot and inserting in place thereof the following:

The county of Penobscot shall choose seventeen representatives to be apportioned as follows: Bangor, four representatives; Brewer, one representative; Old Town, one representative; Dexter and Garland, one representative: Corinna, Exeter, Newport, and Stetson, one representative: Carmel, Dixmont, Etna, Kenduskeag, Levant, Newburg, and Plymouth, one representative; Alton, Argyle (unorganized), Bradford, Charleston, Corinth, Edinburg, Howland, Hudson, Lagrange, Maxfield, and Seboeis, one representative; Glenburn, Hampden and Hermon, one representative; Milford and Orono, one representative; Millinocket, Indian Township Number Three (unorganized) (Norcross), Indian Township Number Four (unorganized) (Perkins), and the wild land townships I. R-seven, and A. Reight and Nine, one representative; Bradley, Clifton, Eddington, Greenbush, Greenfield, Holden, Orrington, and Veazie, one representative: Burlington, Enfield, Grand Falls Plantation, Lincoln, Lowell, and Passadumkeag, one representative; Carroll Plantation, Chester, Drew Plantation, Kingman Plantation, Lakeville Plantation, Lee, Mattawamkeag, Prentiss Plantation, Springfield, Webster Plantation, Winn, and Woodville, one representative; East Millinocket, Medway, Mt. Chase, Patten, Stacyville, and the wild land townships Two R-six (East Division), Two R-six (Davidson), Two R-eight, Eight R-seven, and Three R-eight, one representative.

Further amend said resolve by striking out the paragraph which relates to the County of Piscataquis and inserting in place thereof the following:

The county of Piscataquis shall choose four representatives to be apportioned as follows: Blanchard, Elliottsville Plantation, Greenville, Kingsbury Plantation, Monson, Shirley, Wellington, Willimantic, and the unorganized townships of Big Squaw Mountain, Chesuncook, French Township, Kineo, and Little Squaw Mountain, one representative; Abbot, Barnard, Bowerbank, Brownville, Guilford, Parkman, Katahdin Iron Works (unorganized), and Williamsburg (unorganized), one representative; Dover-Foxcroft and Sangerville, one representative; Atkinson, Lake View Plantation, Medford (unorganized), Milo, Orneville, and Sebec, one representative.