MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 427

H. P. 1158 House of Representatives, February 10, 1937. Referred to Committee on Inland Fisheries and Game. Sent up for concurrence and 500 copies ordered printed.

HARVEY R. PEASE, Clerk.

Presented by Mr. Ellis of Castle Hill.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED THIRTY-SEVEN

AN ACT Relating to Trapping Season for Fur-bearing Animals.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

R. S., c. 38, § 72, amended. Sub-section (a) of section 72 of chapter 38 of the revised statutes, as revised, is hereby amended to read as follows:

'(a) There shall be a perpetual closed season on hunting or trapping any fur-bearing animal except wild hares and rabbits (which are protected under the provision of section 71 of this chapter) bobcats, loupcervier, Canada lynx; and whoever has in possession at any time any furbearing animal or part or parts thereof taken in closed season shall be subject to the penalties of this chapter. Except that there shall be an open season during which it shall be legal to hunt and trap fur-bearing animals except fisher and sable in the respective counties as follows:

November 1st to February 15th.—Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Hancock, Kennebec, Piscataquis, Somerset, Washington and York.

October 16th to February 1st.—Aroostook, Oxford, Penobscot and Waldo.

October 16th to February 15th.—Franklin.

November 1st to December 15th.—Knox, Lincoln and Sagadahoc.

November 16th to February 15th.—Foxes may be hunted with dog and gun in the counties of Lincoln and Sagadahoc.

Except that there shall be an open season on muskrats in the respective counties as follows:

March 20th to April 20th.—Androscoggin, Cumberland, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Waldo and York.

April 1st to April 3oth and from November 1st to November 3oth.—Franklin, Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Oxford and Washington.

April 15th to May 15th and from November 1st to November 3oth.—Aroostook.'