

EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 287

S. P. 185

In Senate, February 4, 1937.

Taken from table on motion by Senator Martin of Penobscot and on further motion by Senator Chase of Piscataquis referred to Committee on Legal Affairs. Sent down for concurrence and 500 copies ordered printed. ROYDEN V. BROWN, Secretary.

Presented by Senator Chase of Piscataquis.

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED THIRTY-SEVEN

RESOLVE, Changing the Name of North Peaks on Mount Katahdin to Howe Peaks and Naming Thoreau Spring on said Mountain.

Whereas, under the deed of gift of Mount Katahdin to the state of Maine the donor, Percival Proctor Baxter (Governor 1921-1925), reserved the right to name locations and erect markers within the donated area, and

Whereas, the said Baxter has changed the name of North Peaks to Howe Peaks and has given the name of Thoreau Spring to the spring in the southwest portion of Baxter State Park on the Katahdin plateau where the Hunt and Abol trails come together and

Whereas, the said Baxter has erected markers bearing the new names on both Howe Peaks and Thoreau Spring, and

Whereas, both said names of Howe Peaks and Thoreau Spring have been officially approved and adopted by the United States Geographic Board, Washington, D. C.; now therefore, be it

Resolved: That the 2 Peaks, the higher of which has an altitude of 4,734 feet, Piscataquis County, Maine, in the northeast corner of Baxter

State Park, Township 3, Range 9, about 2 miles north of Baxter Peak on Mount Katahdin, near latitude 45° 56′ 10″ N., longitude 68° 55′ 20″ W. formerly known as North Peaks, are hereby named Howe Peaks in memory of Burton W. Howe 1874-1922 of Patten, Maine, and the Spring of Water lying on the southwest portion of Baxter State Park where the Hunt and Abol trails come together on the Katahdin plateau is hereby named Thoreau Spring in honor of Henry David Thoreau 1817-1862 who climbed the mountain in 1846 and wrote the first authentic description of the great forest regions of Maine, and the said Peaks and Spring shall hereafter be designated Howe Peaks and Thoreau Spring on the official maps and records of the state.