

SIXTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE.

SENATE.

No. 54.

STATE OF MAINE.

RESOLVE to apportion the State for senators to the legislature.

Resolved, That for the sixty-second legislature and the 2 succeeding legislatures to and including the year one 3 thousand eight hundred and ninety-one, the state be and 4 is hereby divided into sixteen districts for the choice of 5 senators, and each district shall be entitled to elect the 6 number of senators herein provided, for the term of eight 7 years, in the manner prescribed by the constitution, to 8 wit:

The County of York shall form the first district, and be 2 entitled to elect three senators.

3 The County of Cumberland shall form the second dis-4 trict, and be entitled to elect four senators.

5 The County of Oxford shall form the third district, and 6 be entitled to elect two senators.

7 The County of Androscoggin shall form the fourth dis-8 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

9 The County of Franklin shall form the fifth district, 10 and be entitled to elect one senator.

11 The County of Sagadahoc shall form the sixth district,12 and be entitled to elect one senator.

13 The County of Kennebec shall form the seventh dis-14 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators. 15 The Courty of Somerset shall form the eighth district,16 and be entitled to elect one senator.

17 The County of Piscataquis shall form the ninth district,18 and be entitled to elect one senator.

19 The County of Penobscot shall form the tenth district,20 and be entitled to elect three senators.

21 The County of Lincoln shall form the eleventh district,22 and be entitled to elect one senator.

23 The County of Knox shall form the twelfth district,24 and be entitled to elect two senators.

25 The County of Waldo shall form the thirteenth district,26 and be entitled to elect two senators.

27 The County of Hancock shall form the fourteenth dis-28 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

29 The County of Washington shall form the fifteenth dis-30 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

31 The County of Aroostook shall form the sixteenth dis-32 trict, and be entitled to elect two senators.

STATE OF MAINE.

ĝ,

IN SENATE, February 22, 1883.

Reported by Mr. HEATH of Kennebec, from the Committee on Legislative Apportionment, laid on the table to be printed under the Joint Rules.

C. W. TILDEN, Secretary.