MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



132nd MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2025

Legislative Document

No. 1214

S.P. 503

In Senate, March 20, 2025

An Act to Designate the Second Congressional District "Acadia"

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

DAREK M. GRANT Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator MARTIN of Oxford. Cosponsored by Representative: ARDELL of Monticello.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 20-A MRSA §401, sub-§1, as amended by PL 2013, c. 15, §1, is further amended to read:
- 1. Appointment. The state board consists of 9 members and, beginning in the 2007-2008 school year, 2 nonvoting student members, one junior and one senior in high school. All members are appointed by the Governor. Four members must reside in the State's First Congressional District at the time of appointment, 4 members must reside in the State's Second Congressional District Acadia at the time of appointment and one member may reside in either the First Congressional District or the Second Congressional District Acadia at the time of appointment. One of the student members must attend school in the State's First Congressional District at the time of appointment and the other student member must attend school in the State's Second Congressional District Acadia at the time of appointment. Each appointment is subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over education matters and to confirmation by the Senate.
- **Sec. 2. 21-A MRSA §1205-A, sub-§2,** as enacted by PL 2021, c. 552, Pt. C, §1, is amended to read:
- 2. Second District Acadia. The Second District Acadia consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Augusta, Belgrade, Chelsea, Farmingdale, Fayette, Gardiner, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Readfield, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne and Winthrop.

23 SUMMARY

24 This bill designates the State's Second Congressional District "Acadia."