

SALS NOTS		
	1	L.D. 1214
	2	Date: 5/22/25 (Filing No. S- 138) MINORITY
	3	STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT
	4	Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Secretary of the Senate.
	5	STATE OF MAINE
	6	SENATE
	7	132ND LEGISLATURE
	8	FIRST SPECIAL SESSION
1	9 0	COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to S.P. 503, L.D. 1214, "An Act to Designate the Second Congressional District "Acadia""
	12	Amend the bill by striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting the following:
1	3	'Sec. 1. 1 MRSA §72, sub-§20-A is enacted to read:
]	4 5 6 7	20-A. Second Congressional District. "Second Congressional District" or "Second District," as used in statute, must also be known as "Acadia." Each occurrence of the term "Second Congressional District" or "Second District" in statute must be followed by the modifier "also known as Acadia."
	18 19	Sec. 2. 20-A MRSA §401, sub-§1, as amended by PL 2013, c. 15, §1, is further amended to read:
	20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	1. Appointment. The state board consists of 9 members and, beginning in the 2007-2008 school year, 2 nonvoting student members, one junior and one senior in high school. All members are appointed by the Governor. Four members must reside in the State's First Congressional District at the time of appointment, 4 members must reside in the State's Second Congressional District, also known as Acadia, at the time of appointment and one member may reside in either the First Congressional District or the Second Congressional District, also known as Acadia, at the time of appointment and one member may reside in either the First Congressional District or the Second Congressional District, also known as Acadia, at the time of appointment. One of the student members must attend school in the State's First Congressional District at the time of appointment and the other student member must attend school in the State's Second Congressional District, also known as Acadia, at the time of appointment is subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over education matters and to confirmation by the Senate.
	32 33	Sec. 3. 21-A MRSA §1205-A, sub-§2, as enacted by PL 2021, c. 552, Pt. C, §1, is amended to read;
	34 35	2. Second District, also known as Acadia. The Second District, also known as Acadia, consists of the counties of Androscoggin, Aroostook, Franklin, Hancock, Oxford,

Page 1 - 132LR2245(02)

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to S.P. 503, L.D. 1214 (S-138)

Rots

1

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Kennebec County: Augusta, Belgrade, Chelsea, Farmingdale, Fayette, Gardiner, Hallowell, Manchester, Monmouth, Mount Vernon, Oakland, Randolph, Readfield, Rome, Sidney, Vienna, Wayne and Winthrop.'

Amend the bill by relettering or renumbering any nonconsecutive Part letter or section number to read consecutively.

SUMMARY

This amendment, which is the minority report of the committee, amends the bill. The amendment enacts a new section of law establishing that the term "Second Congressional District" or "Second District" as used in statute must also be known as "Acadia." Each occurrence of the term "Second Congressional District" or "Second District" in statute must be followed by the modifier "also known as Acadia."

Page 2 - 132LR2245(02)

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT