



132nd MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2025

Legislative Document

No. 1153

H.P. 758

House of Representatives, March 20, 2025

An Act to Change in Statute the Areas Represented by the Members of the Board of Trustees of the Cross Insurance Arena from Sets of Municipalities to the County Commissioner Districts of Cumberland County

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

R(+ B. Hunt

ROBERT B. HUNT Clerk

Presented by Representative ANKELES of Brunswick.

1	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2 3	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §747, sub-§2, as enacted by PL 2017, c. 195, §2, is amended to read:
4 5 6 7	2. Board of trustees established. The Board of Trustees of the Cross Insurance Arena is established to develop, review and make recommendations to the county commissioners on financial, contractual and policy issues regarding the Cross Insurance Arena. The board of trustees consists of 9 $\underline{7}$ members appointed by the county commissioners as follows:
8	A. Two members from the City of Portland;
9 10	B. One member from each of the following sets of municipalities county commissioner districts in Cumberland County:
11	(1) South Portland and Cape Elizabeth County Commissioner District 1;
12	(2) Scarborough, Westbrook and Falmouth County Commissioner District 2;
13 14	(3) Gorham, Windham, Standish, Baldwin and Sebago County Commissioner District 3;
15 16	(4) Brunswick, Freeport, Harpswell, Pownal and New Gloucester County Commissioner District 4; and
17 18	(5) Yarmouth, Cumberland, North Yarmouth, Gray, Casco, Raymond, Naples, Harrison and Bridgton County Commissioner District 5; and
19	C. Two members at large.
20 21	Trustees are appointed for a term of 3 years and may not serve more than 2 consecutive terms.
22	SUMMARY
23 24 25	This bill changes in statute the geographical areas represented by members of the Board of Trustees of the Cross Insurance Arena from Portland and 5 sets of towns to the 5 county commissioner districts of Cumberland County.