MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



132nd MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2025

Legislative Document

No. 20

S.P. 33

In Senate, January 8, 2025

An Act Regarding the First Judicial District and the District Court Locations in the Judicial Divisions of Androscoggin and Western Aroostook

Submitted by the Judicial Department pursuant to Joint Rule 204.

Received by the Secretary of the Senate on January 6, 2025. Referred to the Committee on Judiciary pursuant to Joint Rule 308.2 and ordered printed.

DAREK M. GRANT Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator CARNEY of Cumberland.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

- Sec. 1. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§2, as amended by PL 2003, c. 673, Pt. JJJ, §3, is further amended to read:
- **2.** Androscoggin. Androscoggin consists of all municipalities in Androscoggin County. The District Court for Androscoggin must be held at Lewiston or Auburn, exact site to be determined by the Chief Judge.
- Sec. 2. 4 MRSA §153, sub-§3, as amended by PL 1995, c. 330, §1, is further amended to read:
- **3. Western Aroostook.** Western Aroostook consists of the municipalities and unorganized territory known as Hamlin Plt. Plantation, Cyr Plt. Plantation, T17 R3, T17 R4, T16 R5, T15 R6, Winterville Plt. Plantation, T15 R8, T15 R9, T14 R10, T14 R11, T14 R12, T14 R13, T14 R14, T14 R15, T14 R16, and all municipalities and unorganized territory in Aroostook County lying to the west and north of these. The District Court for Western Aroostook must be held at Madawaska and Fort Kent. The Chief Judge shall determine the level of service at each location.
- **Sec. 3. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§1,** as amended by PL 1965, c. 228, §2, is further amended to read:
- 1. First District. The first district consists of the divisions of Eastern Aroostook (Caribou) and Western Aroostook (Madawaska, Fort Kent and Van Buren).
- **Sec. 4. 4 MRSA §154, sub-§8,** as amended by PL 2003, c. 673, Pt. JJJ, §4, is further amended to read:
- **8. Eighth District.** The 8th district consists of the divisions division of Androscoggin (Lewiston).

24 SUMMARY

This bill amends the statute establishing judicial divisions to require that the District Court for Androscoggin be located in Lewiston and the District Court for Western Aroostook be located in Fort Kent and corrects a clerical error.

The bill also amends the statute establishing judicial districts to provide that the first district consists of the divisions of Eastern Aroostook located in Caribou and Western Aroostook located in Fort Kent.