# MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



### 132nd MAINE LEGISLATURE

### FIRST REGULAR SESSION-2025

**Legislative Document** 

No. 14

S.P. 27

In Senate, January 8, 2025

An Act to Provide Indigenous Peoples Free Access to State Parks

Received by the Secretary of the Senate on January 6, 2025. Referred to the Committee on Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry pursuant to Joint Rule 308.2 and ordered printed.

DAREK M. GRANT Secretary of the Senate

Presented by Senator HICKMAN of Kennebec. Cosponsored by Representative HASENFUS of Readfield and Senators: BAILEY of York, BENNETT of Oxford, TIPPING of Penobscot, Representative: Speaker FECTEAU of Biddeford.

#### Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 12 MRSA §1819-C is enacted to read:

## §1819-C. Free admission for members of federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band

Notwithstanding section 1819, a member of a federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band in this State is not required to pay a fee for admission to any state-owned park, historic site, camping area or beach managed by the State. To qualify for free admission under this section, a person shall present a qualifying tribal identification, as approved by the respective tribal government, to the bureau staff on duty or other designee of the director.

11 SUMMARY

This bill provides that a member of a federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or band in Maine is not required to pay a fee for admission to any state-owned park, historic site, camping area or beach managed by the State. The bill also specifies that to qualify for free admission, a person is required to present a qualifying tribal identification, as approved by the respective tribal government, to the park attendant or other designee of the Director of the Bureau of Parks and Lands within the Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry.