MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Legislature First Regular Session

Advance Journal and Calendar

60th Legislative Day

In Senate Chamber, Wednesday, June 21, 2017.

Senate called to Order by President Michael D. Thibodeau of Waldo County.

Prayer by Reverend Kristin White, Green Street United Methodist Church of Augusta.

Pledge of Allegiance led by Senator Lisa M. Keim of Oxford County.

Reading of the Journal of Tuesday, June 20, 2017.

Michael D. Thibodeau
Senate President

Heather J.R. Priest *Secretary of the Senate*

http://legislature.maine.gov/senate

Joint Resolutions

(4-6) On motion by Senator **DAVIS** of Piscataquis (Cosponsored by Senators: BELLOWS of Kennebec, BRAKEY of Androscoggin, BREEN of Cumberland, CARPENTER of Aroostook, CARSON of Cumberland, CHENETTE of York, CHIPMAN of Cumberland, COLLINS of York, CUSHING of Penobscot, CYRWAY of Kennebec, DESCHAMBAULT of York, DIAMOND of Cumberland, DILL of Penobscot, DION of Cumberland, DOW of Lincoln, GRATWICK of Penobscot, HAMPER of Oxford, HILL of York, JACKSON of Aroostook, KATZ of Kennebec, KEIM of Oxford, LANGLEY of Hancock, LIBBY of Androscoggin, MAKER of Washington, MASON of Androscoggin, MILLETT of Cumberland, MIRAMANT of Knox, ROSEN of Hancock, SAVIELLO of Franklin, President THIBODEAU of Waldo, VITELLI of Sagadahoc, VOLK of Cumberland, WHITTEMORE of Somerset, WOODSOME of York, Representatives: ACKLEY of Monmouth, ALLEY of Beals, AUSTIN of Skowhegan, AUSTIN of Gray, BABBIDGE of Kennebunk, BAILEY of Saco, BATES of Westbrook, BATTLE of South Portland, BEAR of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, BEEBE-CENTER of Rockland, BERRY of Bowdoinham, BICKFORD of Auburn, BLACK of Wilton, BLUME of York, BRADSTREET of Vassalboro, BROOKS of Lewiston, BRYANT of Windham, CAMPBELL of Orrington, CARDONE of Bangor, CASÁS of Rockport, CEBRA of Naples, CHACE of Durham, CHAPMAN of Brooksville, COLLINGS of Portland, COOPER of Yarmouth, COREY of Windham, CRAIG of Brewer, DANA of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, DeCHANT of Bath, DENNO of Cumberland, DEVIN of Newcastle, DILLINGHAM of Oxford, DOORE of Augusta, DUCHESNE of Hudson, DUNPHY of Old Town, ESPLING of New Gloucester, FARNSWORTH of Portland, FARRIN of Norridgewock, FAY of Raymond, FECTEAU of Biddeford, FOLEY of Wells, FREDETTE of Newport, FREY of Bangor, FULLER of Lewiston, GATTINE of Westbrook, GERRISH of Lebanon, Speaker GIDEON of Freeport, GILLWAY of Searsport, GINZLER of Bridgton, GOLDEN of Lewiston, GRANT of Gardiner, GRIGNON of Athens, GROHMAN of Biddeford, GUERIN of Glenburn, HAGGAN of Hampden, HAMANN of South Portland, HANDY of Lewiston, HANINGTON of Lincoln, HANLEY of Pittston, HARLOW of Portland, HARRINGTON of Sanford, HARVELL of Farmington, HAWKE of Boothbay Harbor, HEAD of Bethel, HERBIG of Belfast, HERRICK of Paris, HICKMAN of Winthrop, HIGGINS of Dover-Foxcroft, HILLIARD of Belgrade, HOGAN of Old Orchard Beach, HUBBELL of Bar Harbor, HYMANSON of York, JOHANSEN of Monticello, JORGENSEN of Portland, KINNEY of Limington, KINNEY of Knox, KORNFIELD of Bangor, KUMIEGA of Deer Isle, LAWRENCE of South Berwick, LOCKMAN of Amherst, LONGSTAFF of Waterville, LUCHINI of Ellsworth, LYFORD of Eddington, MADIGAN of Waterville, MADIGAN of Rumford, MALABY of Hancock, MAREAN of Hollis, MARTIN of Eagle Lake, MARTIN of Sinclair, MASON of Lisbon, MASTRACCIO of Sanford, McCREA of Fort Fairfield, McCREIGHT of Harpswell, McELWEE of Caribou, McLEAN of Gorham, MELARAGNO of Auburn, MONAGHAN of Cape Elizabeth, MOONEN of Portland, NADEAU of Winslow, O'CONNOR of Berwick, O'NEIL of Saco, ORDWAY of Standish, PARKER of South Berwick, PARRY of Arundel, PERKINS of Oakland, PERRY of Calais, PICCHIOTTI of Fairfield, PICKETT of Dixfield, PIERCE of Dresden, PIERCE of Falmouth, POULIOT of Augusta, PRESCOTT of Waterboro, RECKITT of South Portland, REED of Carmel, RILEY of Jay, RYKERSON of Kittery, SAMPSON of Alfred, SANBORN of Portland, SANDERSON of Chelsea, SCHNECK of Bangor, SEAVEY of Kennebunkport, SHEATS of Auburn, SHERMAN of Hodgdon, SIMMONS of Waldoboro, SIROCKI of Scarborough, SKOLFIELD of Weld, SPEAR of South Thomaston, STANLEY of Medway, STEARNS of Guilford, STETKIS of Canaan, STEWART of Presque Isle, STROM of Pittsfield, SUTTON of Warren, SYLVESTER of Portland, TALBOT ROSS of Portland, TEPLER of Topsham, TERRY of Gorham, THERIAULT of China, TIMBERLAKE of Turner, TIPPING of Orono, TUCKER of Brunswick, TUELL of East Machias, TURNER of Burlington, VACHON of Scarborough, WADSWORTH of Hiram, WALLACE of Dexter, WARD of Dedham, WARREN of Hallowell, WHITE of Washburn, WINSOR of Norway, WOOD of Greene, ZEIGLER of Montville), the following Joint Resolution:

S.P. 593

STATE OF MAINE IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD TWO THOUSAND AND SEVENTEEN

JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING OFFICER DAVID BAILEY, OFFICER CRYSTAL GRINER AND OFFICER HENRY CABRERA OF THE UNITED STATES CAPITOL POLICE

WHEREAS, more than 2,100 officers and civilians work for the Capitol Police in the District of Columbia; and

WHEREAS, the Capitol Police force is tasked with protecting the members, employees, visitors and facilities of Congress; and

WHEREAS, the jurisdiction of the Capitol Police also includes providing security outside of Washington, DC when required for additional security for members of Congress; and

WHEREAS, on June 13, 2017, the Republican team holding a practice session for the annual Congressional Baseball Game at a field in Alexandria, Virginia was attacked by gunman, who wounded 5 persons including House Majority Whip Stephen Scalise; and

WHEREAS, 3 officers of the Capitol Police, David Bailey, Crystal Griner and Henry Cabrera, immediately returned fire; and

WHEREAS, Officers Baily and Griner rushed at the gunman, despite receiving wounds, and with Officer Cabrera continuing to fire; and

WHEREAS, after a 10-minute shootout, the gunman was shot and killed by the officers; and

WHEREAS, were it not for the presence of Officers Baily, Griner and Cabrera, many lives would have been lost; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That We, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Legislature now assembled in the First Regular Session, on behalf of the people we represent, take this opportunity to recognize Officer David Baily, Officer Crystal Griner and Officer Henry Cabrera of the United States Capitol Police for their bravery and disregard for their personal safety, which led to their heroic response to this tragic event.