MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from electronic originals (may include minor formatting differences from printed original)



The House Calendar

The Advance Journal and Calendar of the House of Representatives

ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-EIGHTH MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION

23rd Legislative Day

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Calling of the House to Order by the Speaker.

Prayer by Pastor Jeffrey Bateman, Cornerstone Baptist Church, Scarborough.

National Anthem by John Bapst Honors Chorale, Bangor.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Doctor of the day, Elisabeth Mock, M.D., Holden.

Reading of the Journal of Tuesday, March 21, 2017.

ORDERS

(4-1) On motion of Representative DeCHANT of Bath, the following Joint Resolution: (H.P. 788) (Cosponsored by Representatives: ACKLEY of Monmouth, ALLEY of Beals, AUSTIN of Skowhegan, AUSTIN of Gray, BABBIDGE of Kennebunk, BAILEY of Saco, BATES of Westbrook, BATTLE of South Portland, BEAR of the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, BEEBE-CENTER of Rockland, BERRY of Bowdoinham, BICKFORD of Auburn, BLACK of Wilton, BLUME of York, BRADSTREET of Vassalboro, BROOKS of Lewiston, BRYANT of Windham, CAMPBELL of Orrington, CARDONE of Bangor, CASÁS of Rockport, CEBRA of Naples, CHACE of Durham, CHAPMAN of Brooksville, COLLINGS of Portland, COOPER of Yarmouth, COREY of Windham, CRAIG of Brewer, DANA of the Passamaquoddy Tribe, DAUGHTRY of Brunswick, DENNO of Cumberland, DEVIN of Newcastle, DILLINGHAM of Oxford, DOORE of Augusta, DUCHESNE of Hudson, DUNPHY of Old Town, ESPLING of New Gloucester, FARNSWORTH of Portland, FARRIN of Norridgewock, FAY of Raymond, FECTEAU of Biddeford, FOLEY of Wells, FREDETTE of Newport, FREY of Bangor, FULLER of Lewiston, GATTINE of Westbrook, GERRISH of Lebanon, Speaker GIDEON of Freeport, GILLWAY of Searsport, GINZLER of Bridgton, GOLDEN of Lewiston, GRANT of Gardiner, GRIGNON of Athens, GROHMAN of Biddeford, GUERIN of Glenburn, HAGGAN of Hampden, HAMANN of South Portland, HANDY of Lewiston, HANINGTON of Lincoln, HANLEY of Pittston, HARLOW of Portland, HARRINGTON of Sanford, HARVELL of Farmington, HAWKE of Boothbay Harbor, HEAD of Bethel, HERBIG of Belfast, HERRICK of Paris, HICKMAN of Winthrop, HIGGINS of Dover-Foxcroft, HILLIARD of Belgrade, HOGAN of Old Orchard Beach, HUBBELL of Bar Harbor, HYMANSON of York, JOHANSEN of Monticello, JORGENSEN of Portland, KINNEY of Limington, KINNEY of Knox, KORNFIELD of Bangor, KUMIEGA of Deer Isle, LAWRENCE of South Berwick, LOCKMAN of Amherst, LONGSTAFF of Waterville, LUCHINI of Ellsworth, LYFORD of Eddington, MADIGAN of Waterville, MADIGAN of Rumford, MALABY of Hancock, MAREAN of Hollis, MARTIN of Eagle Lake, MARTIN of Sinclair, MASON of Lisbon, MASTRACCIO of Sanford, McCREA of Fort Fairfield, McCREIGHT of Harpswell, McELWEE of Caribou, McLEAN of Gorham, MELARAGNO of Auburn, MONAGHAN of Cape Elizabeth, MOONEN of Portland, NADEAU of Winslow, O'CONNOR of Berwick, O'NEIL of Saco, ORDWAY of Standish, PARKER of South Berwick, PARRY of Arundel, PERKINS of Oakland, PERRY of Calais, PICCHIOTTI of Fairfield, PICKETT of Dixfield, PIERCE of Dresden, PIERCE of Falmouth, POULIOT of Augusta, PRESCOTT of Waterboro, RECKITT of South Portland, REED of Carmel, RILEY of Jay, RYKERSON of Kittery, SAMPSON of Alfred, SANBORN of Portland, SANDERSON of Chelsea, SCHNECK of Bangor, SEAVEY of Kennebunkport, SHEATS of Auburn, SHERMAN of Hodgdon, SIMMONS of Waldoboro, SIROCKI of Scarborough, SKOLFIELD of Weld, SPEAR of South Thomaston, STANLEY of Medway, STEARNS of Guilford, STETKIS of Canaan, STEWART of Presque Isle, STROM of Pittsfield, SUTTON of Warren, SYLVESTER of Portland, TALBOT ROSS of Portland, TEPLER of Topsham, TERRY of Gorham, THERIAULT of China, TIMBERLAKE of Turner, TIPPING of Orono, TUCKER of Brunswick, TUELL of East Machias, TURNER of Burlington, VACHON of Scarborough, WADSWORTH of Hiram, WALLACE of Dexter, WARD of Dedham, WARREN of Hallowell, WHITE of Washburn, WINSOR of Norway, WOOD of Greene, ZEIGLER of Montville, Senators: BELLOWS of Kennebec, BRAKEY of Androscoggin, BREEN of Cumberland, CARPENTER of Aroostook, CARSON of Cumberland, CHENETTE of York, CHIPMAN of Cumberland, COLLINS of York, CUSHING of Penobscot, CYRWAY of Kennebec, DAVIS of Piscataquis, DESCHAMBAULT of York, DIAMOND of Cumberland, DILL of Penobscot, DION of Cumberland, DOW of Lincoln, GRATWICK of Penobscot, HAMPER of Oxford, HILL of York, JACKSON of Aroostook, KATZ of Kennebec, KEIM of Oxford, LANGLEY of Hancock, LIBBY of Androscoggin, MAKER of Washington, MASON of Androscoggin, MILLETT of Cumberland, MIRAMANT of Knox, ROSEN of Hancock, SAVIELLO of Franklin, President THIBODEAU of Waldo, VITELLI of Sagadahoc, VOLK of Cumberland, WHITTEMORE of Somerset, WOODSOME of York)

JOINT RESOLUTION TO HONOR THE MEMORY OF EDWIN H. PERT

WHEREAS, it is with deep regret that We, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Legislature now assembled in the First Regular Session, take this opportunity to honor the memory of the Honorable Edwin H. Pert, who served the State of Maine as a dedicated public servant for many years; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Edwin H. Pert was born in Bath and graduated from Morse High School in 1950 and from the University of Maine in 1954; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pert was a veteran of the United States Army, having served a tour of duty in Korea as a public information officer; and

WHEREAS, upon his return home, he worked as a reporter for the *Bath Daily Times* and as news director for WMMS/WJTO radio; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pert served in the Maine House of Representatives representing Bath in the 99th Legislature and served as executive director of the Maine Democratic Party; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pert worked as Secretary of the Senate from 1965 to 1966 and he also served 18 years as the Clerk of the House of Representatives, from 1975 to 1992; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pert spent several years as executive director of the Maine chapters of the March of Dimes and the Arthritis Foundation; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pert served the Town of Georgetown in many capacities, including as town moderator and as a member of the board of selectmen, the planning board, the town-owned property management board, the recreation commission and committee and the financial advisory committee, and he was named Georgetown Citizen of the Year in 2003; and

WHEREAS, Edwin H. Pert will be sadly missed and long remembered by his family, his friends and his colleagues at the Legislature and throughout State Government; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That We, the Members of the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Legislature now assembled in the First Regular Session, on behalf of the people we represent, take this opportunity to pause in a moment of understanding and prayer to inscribe this token of sympathy and condolence to all who share our sorrow at the passing of the Honorable Edwin H. Pert and to honor his memory for his many years of exemplary and loyal service to the Maine Legislature and the State of Maine; and be it further

RESOLVED: That suitable copies of this resolution, duly authenticated by the Secretary of State, be transmitted to the family of Edwin H. Pert with the appreciation and affection of the people of the State of Maine.