



## **118th MAINE LEGISLATURE**

## FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1997

Legislative Document

No. 713

H.P. 522

House of Representatives, February 4, 1997

An Act to Change the Composition of the Loring Development Authority Board of Trustees.

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

JOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative O'NEAL of Limestone. Cosponsored by Representatives: AHEARNE of Madawaska, BUNKER of Kossuth Township, DESMOND of Mapleton, SIROIS of Caribou, WHEELER of Bridgewater, Senator: PARADIS of Aroostook.

## Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 5 MRSA §13080-B, sub-§2, as amended by PL 1995, c. 4 166, §1, is further amended to read:

12

24

26

28

30

32

42

44

2

6 2. Membership; appointment. The authority is governed by a board of trustees composed of 13 voting members appointed by the Governor and subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over economic development
 10 matters and to confirmation by the Senate and one nonvoting member appointed by the Aroostook County legislative delegation.

A. Trustees are appointed for 4-year terms except that, for
 initial appointments, 3 trustees are appointed to one-year
 terms, 3 trustees to 2-year terms, 2 trustees to 3-year
 terms, 4 trustees to 4-year terms and the commissioner
 designated pursuant to paragraph D serves at the pleasure of
 the Governor.

- B. A trustee continues to hold office until a successor is appointed and qualified, but the term of the successor is not altered from the original expiration date of the holdover trustee's term.
  - C. The Governor shall make 12 appointments, of which no less than 7 must be from candidates who are residents of Aroostook County and are nominated by the primary impact communities. The Governor shall appoint members who reflect the diversity of interests represented by these communities. At least 4 of the remaining appointments must be from candidates who are not residents of Aroostook County.
- D. The Governor shall designate a commissioner of a department of State Government to be a voting, ex officio
  member of the board of trustees.
- 38 <u>E. The Aroostook County legislative delegation shall</u> designate a member of the delegation to be a nonvoting, ex
   40 officio member of the board of trustees.

## SUMMARY

This bill changes the composition of the Loring Development Authority Board of Trustees by adding an additional member. The Aroostook County legislative delegation will appoint a member of the delegation to be a nonvoting, ex officio member of the board of trustees.