## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



## 116th MAINE LEGISLATURE

## FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1993

Legislative Document

No. 952

H.P. 700

House of Representatives, March 18, 1993

An Act to Increase the Number of Cumberland County Commissioners.

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

JOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative MITCHELL of Freeport. Cosponsored by Representatives: COLES of Harpswell, LARRIVEE of Gorham.

	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §61-B is enacted to read:
4	
6	§61-B. Cumberland County
8	Notwithstanding section 61, there is established a Board of Commissioners for Cumberland County consisting of a chair and 8
10	other citizens. All other provisions of section 61 apply to Cumberland County.
12	Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §82, sub-§4, ¶C is enacted to read:
14	C. For the first fiscal year after the effective date of this Act, each Cumberland County commissioner is entitled to
16	a salary of \$2,000.
18	Sec. 3. Apportionment. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 61, when the county commissioner
20	districts are reapportioned in 1993 as provided under Title 30-A, section 65, the apportionment commission shall apportion
22	Cumberland County into 9 commissioner districts and include in its apportionment plan the initial terms of office for each
24	commissioner district. The apportionment commission shall designate 4 commissioner districts that have 2-year terms and 5
26	commissioner districts that have 4-year terms. All subsequent terms are for 4 years.
28	
30	STATEMENT OF FACT
32	This bill changes the required number of county commissioners in Cumberland County from 3 to 9. The Cumberland
34	County voters will elect the required 9 county commissioners according to the reapportioned districts in the fall of 1994 and
36	the newly elected commissioners will take office on January 1, 1995. The bill also sets the salary for the first fiscal year at
38	\$2,000 for each commissioner.