



## 116th MAINE LEGISLATURE

## **FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1993**

Legislative Document

No. 910

H.P. 672

House of Representatives, March 15, 1993

An Act to Limit Terms of State Office Holders.

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed.

JOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative BENNETT of Norway. Cosponsored by Representatives: FOSS of Yarmouth, PENDEXTER of Scarborough, Senator: HALL of Piscataquis.

-	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
2	Sec. 1. 3 MRSA §21-A is enacted to read:
4	<u>§21-A. Senators; term limits</u>
6 8	A person may not serve more than 4 consecutive terms as a member of the Senate.
10	Sec. 2. 3 MRSA §41-A is enacted to read:
12	<u>§41-A. Representatives; term limits</u>
14	<u>A person may not serve more than 4 consecutive terms as a member of the House of Representatives.</u>
16 18	Sec. 3. 5 MRSA c. 1, sub-c. III is enacted to read:
	SUBCHAPTER III
20	EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEE TERM LIMITS
22	<u>§20-B. Limitations on terms</u>
24	<u>yzv-b. Emitacions on terms</u>
26	Notwithstanding any other provision of law, consecutive terms in office are limited as follows.
28	<b>1. Attorney General.</b> A person may not serve more than 4 consecutive terms as Attorney General.
30 32	2. Secretary of State. A person may not serve more than 4 consecutive terms as Secretary of State.
34	3. Treasurer of State. A person may not serve more than 4 consecutive terms as Treasurer of State.
36	<b>4. State Auditor.</b> A person may not serve more than 4
38	<u>consecutive terms as State Auditor.</u>
40	Sec. 4. Effective date. The limitations imposed by this Act apply to the terms of office served by persons elected to serve
42	in or by the First Regular Session of the 117th Legislature and to all terms of office served by persons elected or appointed to
44	serve thereafter.
46	STATEMENT OF FACT
48	
50	This bill establishes limitations on terms for state Legislators, the Attorney General, the Secretary of State, the

Page 1-LR0916(1) L.D. 910 Treasurer of State and the State Auditor. The bill limits those office holders to 4 consecutive terms, beginning with terms of office commenced during and after the First Regular Session of the 117th Legislature.

> Page 2-LR0916(1) L.D. 910

2 4