MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)



116th MAINE LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION-1993

Legislative Document

No. 294

H.P. 226

House of Representatives, February 4, 1993

An Act Concerning the Structure of the State Court Library Committee and the System of State Law Libraries.

Reference to the Committee on Judiciary suggested and ordered printed.

JOSEPH W. MAYO, Clerk

Presented by Representative KETTERER of Madison. Cosponsored by Representatives: BAILEY of Farmington, FARNSWORTH of Hallowell, HUSSEY of Milo, OTT of York, PLOWMAN of Hampden, Senators: HANLEY of Oxford, LUDWIG of Aroostook, PARADIS of Aroostook, WEBSTER of Franklin.

2	
4	Sec. 1. 4 MRSA §191, as amended by PL 1989, c. 503, Pt. B, §7, is further amended to read:
	_
6	§191. State Court Library Committee
8	The State Court Library Committee, as established in Title 5, section 12004-G, subsection 23, shall-censist consists of 7 9
10	voting members, 2 $\underline{3}$ of whom shall <u>must</u> be members of the public, 2 of whom shall <u>must</u> be members of the judiciary and 3 $\underline{4}$ of whom
12	shall must be attorneys. Each attorney appointed to the committee must be actively engaged in the practice of law and have an
14	established place of business in a county in which a law library established pursuant to section 193 is located and must be chosen
16	so that each tier has an attorney representative. The members shall-be are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Chief
18	Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court. The Chief Justice shall designate the chair. The State Law Librarian, the University of
20	Maine School of Law Librarian and the State Court Administrator shall-be are ex officio nonvoting members. A quorum shall-censist
22	consists of 4 of the voting members. The committee shall meet at least 4 times each year. Secretarial assistance shall must be
24	provided by the Administrative Office of the Courts.
26	Sec. 2. 4 MRSA §193, as amended by PL 1991, c. 671, Pt. M, §1, is further amended by adding after that part related to Tier
28	III libraries the following:
30	Tier IV libraries must be located in:
32	Aroostook County, Houlton;
34	Franklin County, Farmington;
36	Piscataquis County, Dover-Foxcroft; and
38	Waldo County, Belfast.
40	
42	STATEMENT OF FACT
44	This bill reestablishes small law libraries in some of the locations that had libraries closed previously. The bill also
46	expands membership in the State Court Library Committee.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

46