MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

L.D. 1954 2 (Filing No. H- 699) б STATE OF MAINE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 8 115TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION 10 12 HOUSE AMENDMENT "" to COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to S.P. 760, L.D. 1954, Bill, "An Act Correcting Errors and Inconsistencies in 14 the Laws of Maine" 16 Amend the amendment in Part C by inserting before section C-1 the following: 18 'Sec. C-1. 30-A MRSA §751, sub-§1, ¶A, as enacted by PL 1991, 20 c. 257, is amended to read: 22 Budget committee members must be elected on the Tuesday following the first Monday of November in each even-numbered 24 year beginning in 1994. Each term begins January 1st of the 26 year following the election. Sec. C-2. 30-A MRSA §756, sub-§§2, 3 and 4, as enacted by PL 28 1991, c. 257, are amended to read: 30 2. Committee selection. The initial election to the budget committee must occur on the Tuesday following the first Monday of 32 November 1991. The terms for the initial budget committee members begin December 1, 1991. The committee consists of 9 34 members elected from the districts defined in section 757 and as 36 provided for in section 751, subsection 1, paragraph B; 38 Organization meeting. The county clerk shall call an organization meeting of the initial budget committee no later than 50 30 days before the end of the county's fiscal year; and 40 42 Submission of itemized budget estimate. The county

commissioners shall submit an itemized budget estimate to the initial budget committee no later than $50\ 30$ days before the end

Sec. C-3. 30-A MRSA §757, as enacted by PL 1991, c. 257, is

of the county's fiscal year.

amended to read:

44

46

48

§757. Budget committee membership districts

One budget committee member must be elected from each of the following districts, with the exception of district 3 which shall elect 2 members at large. The county commissioners shall redistrict these seats by June 1, 1993 and every 10 years thereafter. The county commissioners shall provide the Secretary of State with the descriptions of the new districts within 30 days of adoption of each redistricting. The budget committee member districts are as follows.

12

14

16

- 1. District 1. District 1 consists of Criehaven, Isle au Haut, Matinicus <u>Isle</u> Plantation, North Haven, Vinalhaven and St. George. The initial term for district 1 expires on the-Tuesday fellowing-the-first-Menday-ef-Nevember <u>December 31</u>, 1996.
- 2. District 2. District 2 consists of South Thomaston and Owl's Owls Head. The initial term for district 2 expires on the Tuesday-fellowing-the-first-Menday-of-Nevember December 31, 1994.
- 22 3. District 3. District 3 consists of Rockland and elects 2 members at large. The initial term for district 3 expires on the-Tuesday-following-the-first-Monday-ef-November December 31, 1996.

26

4. District 4. District 4 consists of Camden. The initial term for district 4 expires on the Tuesday -following-the first Menday-ef-Nevember December 31, 1994.

30

32

28

5. District 5. District 5 consists of Hope and Rockport. The initial term for district 5 expires on the-Tuesday-following the-first-Menday-ef-Nevember December 31, 1996.

34

36

6. District 6. District 6 consists of Appleton, Union and Washington. The initial term for district 6 expires on the Tuesday-fellowing-the-first-Menday-ef-Nevember December 31, 1994.

38

40

7. District 7. District 7 consists of Warren and Friendship. The initial term for district 7 expires on the Tuesday-fellowing-the-first-Monday-of-November December 31, 1996.

42

44

8. District 8. District 8 consists of Thomaston and Cushing. The initial term for district 8 expires on the-Tuesday fellowing-the-first-Menday-ef-Nevember December 31, 1994.'

46

Further amend the amendment by renumbering the sections to 48 read consecutively.

50

HOUSE AMENDMENT " \mathcal{B} " to COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to S.P. 760, L.D. 1954

STATEMENT OF FACT

This amendment corrects the names of 2 communities in Knox
County, corrects the expiration date of terms of the initial Knox
County Budget Committee members to provide for election of
successors, provides for the start of initial and subsequent
terms for members and amends the time frame for the initial
budget committee to start its work to allow for certification of
the election results.

16.200

Filed by Rep. Mayo of Thomaston Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House (6/26/91) (Filing No. H-699)