MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE

The following document is provided by the

LAW AND LEGISLATIVE DIGITAL LIBRARY

at the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library

http://legislature.maine.gov/lawlib



Reproduced from scanned originals with text recognition applied (searchable text may contain some errors and/or omissions)

FIRST REGULAR SESSION

ONE HUNDRED AND NINTH LEGISLATURE

Legislative Document

No. 950

S. P. 320

In Senate, March 5, 1979

Referred to the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. Sent down for concurrence and ordered printed.

Presented by Senator Redmond of Somerset.

MAY M. ROSS, Secretary of the Senate

STATE OF MAINE

IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD NINETEEN HUNDRED SEVENTY-NINE

AN ACT to Amend the Spruce Budworm Protection District Boundary.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine, as follows:

12 MRSA § 1013, as enacted by PL 1975, c. 764, § 3, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

§ 1013. Spruce Fir Forest Protection District

There is established a Spruce Fir Forest Protection District consisting of each of the municipalities and townships within the State in which the softwood forest cover is to a substantial extent composed of species of spruce and fir trees and wherein the spruce and fir is now, or may reasonably be expected to become, subject to infestation and destruction by spruce budworm insects. The district shall consist of the following municipalities and townships:

Aroostook County. All municipalities and townships;

Franklin County. The following municipalities and townships: Gorham, Gore, Beattie, Lowelltown, Morrill, Strip, Skinner, Coburn Gore, Massachusetts Gore, Chain of Ponds, Kibby, Seven Ponds, Alder Stream, Jim Pond, Stetsontown, Tim Pond, Eustis, Davis, Lang, Coplin Plantation, Rangeley, Dallas Plantation, Redington Plantation, Rangeley Plantation, Township D, Township E and T6 North of Weld;

Hancock County. All municipalities and townships east of a line formed by the western boundaries of the following municipalities and townships: Tremont, Mount Desert, Bar Harbor, Trenton, Lamoine, Hancock, Township 8, S.D. and Mariaville;

Oxford County. All municipalities and townships north of a line formed by the southern and eastern boundaries of the following municipalities and townships: Riley, Newry, Andover West Surplus and Andover North Surplus;

Penobscot County. All municipalities and townships north of a line formed by the southern and western boundaries of the following municipalities: Clifton, Bradley, Old Town, Alton and Lagrange;

Piscataquis County. All municipalities and townships;

Somerset County. All municipalities and townships north of a line formed by the southern boundaries of Brighton Plantation, Bingham, Concord and Township 2, R. 1, B.K.P., W.K.R. (Lexington), except for the following townships: Upper Enchanted, Lower Enchanted, West Forks Plantation, T. 3, R. 4, B.K.P., W.K.R., Carrying Place, Carrying Place Town and Highland Plantation; and

Washington County. All municipalities and townships.

STATEMENT OF FACT

This bill will remove the following municipalities from the Spruce Budworm Protection District:

Oxford County. Andover, Byron and Roxbury;

Franklin County. Madrid, Phillips, Sandy River Plantation and Weld; and

Somerset County. Highland Plantation, Carrying Place, Carrying Place Town, T3 R4 BKP WKR, West Forks, Lower Enchanted and Upper Enchanted.