

L.D. 950

STATE OF MAINE SENATE 109TH LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR SESSION

(Filing No. S-92)

COMMITTEE AMENDMENT "A" to S.P. 320, L.D. 950, Bill, "AN ACT to Amend the Spruce Budworm Protection District Boundary."

Amend the Bill by striking out all of that part designated "<u>§1013.</u>" and inserting in its place the following:

'§1013. Spruce Fir Forest Protection District

JE

There is established a Spruce Fir Forest Protection District consisting of each of the municipalities and townships within the State in which the softwood forest cover is to a substantial extent composed of species of spruce and fir trees and wherein the spruce and fir are now, or may reasonably be expected to become, subject to infestation and destruction by spruce budworm insects. The district shall consist of the following municipalities and townships:

Aroostook County. All municipalities and townships except Oakfield, New Limerick, Houlton, Littleton, Mars Hill, Easton, Presque Isle, Fort Fairfield, Mapleton, Washburn, Woodland, New Sweden, Caribou, Limestone, Madawaska, Fort Kent and Frenchville;

Franklin County. The following municipalities and townships: Plantation. Plantation, Rangeley, Dallas/ Lang, Coplin/ Eustis, Jim Pond, Alder Stream, Chain of Ponds and Coburn Gore;

Hancock County. All municipalities and townships north of a line formed by the southern boundaries of the townships of Mariaville, Waltham, Franklin and Tl6 M.D.; Penobscot County. All municipalities and townships north of a line formed by the southern and western boundaries of the townships of Lagrange, Alton, Milford and Bradley;

Piscataquis County. All municipalities and townships except Atkinson, Sebec, Orneville, Dover-Foxcroft, Guilford, Sangerville, Monson, Abbot, Parkman, Kingsbury Plantation and Wellington; Somerset County. All municipalities and townships north of a line formed by the southern boundaries of the townships of Mayfield, Moscow, Pleasant Ridge Plantation and Highland Plantation; and

Washington County. All municipalities and townships except Steuben, Milbridge, Harrington, Addison, Beals, Jonesport, Roque Bluffs, Machias, Machiasport, Cutler, Trescott, Lubec and Eastport.'

Statement of Fact

The Bureau of Forestry has indicated that spraying for budworm control is not an appropriate management practice in 114 of the townships now in the protection district. This amendment takes all of these towns out of the district, so the landowners would not have to pay an excise tax for which they get no benefit.

Reported by the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. Reproduced and distributed pursuant to Senate Rule 11-A. April 6, 1979 (Filing No. S-92)